2003-05-12

cosmetic aisles and bookstores

I'm so tired of people and their bullshit drama. On to other things.

I haven't updated in a while, but you'll thank me. If I had, you would have been reading lots and lots about how crappy the last few weeks have been, and how I cried straight for two days this weekend. That's all over now. And I'm planning a trip to New Orleans. It's gonna be fun fun fun, plus I just need to get out of this town/area for a few days.

Yesterday was the best day I've had in a long time. Since it was Mother's Day, I actually dressed up for church. And I wore the coolest skirt ever. It makes me look like a mermaid and the slits up the side make it easy to walk around in. Afterwards I rediscovered the fun of the car wash, and then bought makeup, magazines, and the coolest hair product ever. We met up with another family for lunch at Ruby Tuesdays where I saw Marion and Jess, both good friends of mine whom I have not seen in forever. Made me happy. Shrimp fettucini alfredo rocks my socks off, I think I will have the rest for breakfast this morning. Went home to change before going in search of these palm tree tumblers I'd planned to buy mom as a gift....the phone rang.

::Elliott!::

He is going all out of his way to be a sweetheart, but it's genuine and not in a con-man way. Not that he's ever like that (con-man charming), but he could be. He said "Come hell or high water, I will spend your birthday with you". Made me smile. And he also let me know that they have a flat rate long distance that they pay at the begninning of the month, then it's unlimited long distance. Meaning we'll be talking lots and lots and lots. Oh baby. I love it when guys make the effort. He also let me know he misses me a lot and called me sweetie. I was very impressed that he had done all the things he had for me, and is planning to do all this other stuff, but it didn't make me giddy, sadly enough.

After that, I finally tracked down some tumblers, then went to BooksAMillion, where I spent over $50 on books. One I had ordered for Elliott, another I had had, but a friend borrowed and lost it, then Barnes&Noble didn't ship the one she'd ordered,then there was another book I've read and loved and wanted Elliott to read, and finally I just bought a book for me. And a card for my cousin Suzie, who lives in New Orleans. Fun fun fun. Few things make me as happy as cosmetic aisles and bookstores. I just had a really good day, and was happy with myself, for a change. I got home, made mom listen to 'Clark Gable' by THE POSTAL SERVICE (get it get it get it!), and attempted to clean my room.

Discovery of fire ants that have eaten the paint off of my shoes sucked the wind out of my sails, so I went to Jess's. We had lots of fun, and I got to see her with her boyfriend. They're amazingly cute together, it's wonderful. I dropped back by my house b/c Elliott had said he was planning on calling, and he did. He misses me and it is (was) exactly three weeks and two days (one now) until my birthday, when he will be here. I'm debating whether to get my belly pierced now, or to wait until Elliott's here, so I'll have someone's hand to hold. Cause I'm getting the bottom done, which I hear is more painful than getting the top done. And as the only piercings I have are my ears, which I got pierced when I was in first grade.... Hmm. Might want to wait. Anywayanywayanyway, I am very excited for him to get his books in the mail, I just have to get a box and ship them soon.

I spent the night at Jess's, hung out with Brenna and discussed sex. I finally got to meet Jess's older brother, Andrew, whom I have heard about for years but have always just missed meeting. He's great. We plan on hanging out soon. He's gay and calls me (a) Grace. Quite cute. We're platonically in love with each other, and he has the coolest pajama pants ever (Lucky Charms). Jess is hands-down one of my favorite people....when I can get in touch with her. She asked me if I wanted to move in with her and Brenna, who are getting an apartment this summer. I'd love to, but as I'm only going to be here for about six more months, I think it might be wiser to just wait and save my money. That doesn't mean I won't be over all the time, though, haha. Great girls, and lots of fun.

Today's plan was to enjoy summer, read, and lay out.....however Mom asked me to laundry, 'as much as possible', so looks like those plans are out. I just hope my dad's not off any this week, I do not like hanging out with that guy at all. Gahh. So...laundry/breakfast time. Have a wonderful Monday. Ciao.

Makeout with Buck out of the question. Thank you, Kim, for enlightening me. That's okay, there will be many a fine boy in Nawlins!

aigre-douce at 7:48 a.m.

previous | next