2003-08-24

montgomery

AND THE AWARD FOR BEST COMEBACK ARTIST GOES TO.........

I have the most excellent boyfriend ever. Friday he and I went to Dothan for entertainment. He spent $10 at the candystore, one of those that you pick the candy out of all these little bins and put them in the same bag, and pay according to how much it weighs. It's been a long time since I've done something like that. It was fun. We also bought Icees (mine was peach), I had a coffee, and then we saw Jackie Chan's new movie, The Medallion. I have decided Jackie Chan is my new love interest, haha. Right after Chad Hugo of the Neptunes, that is. At any rate, we had a lot of fun. Later at my house, I suggested something and he totally flipped. It was really bizarre, because I never would have dreamed that would be his response. At any rate, he ended up leaving my house at about 3, 4 in the morning, and we were on odd terms. However, he certainly made up for it the next day.

Yesterday he came over and out of the blue, suggested we go to Montgomery, just to do something different. I was feeling ill (thank you, Aunt Flo) and had a headache from hell. James suggested I sleep, and so I did, half-naked on the way to Montgomery. When I woke up, we were in the city, it was getting dark, and I felt tons better. We headed straight for Barnes and Noble, where I exchanged The Nanny Diaries (good book, but it was a gift and I'd already read it) for An Underachiever's Diary, and Bitch, a magazine. James bought the Hipster Handbook, according to which, he is not thanks to his skull tattoos. For those he falls into the biker/redneck/Facist category, none of which he is. OUCH. We rushed to the nicer of the Mongtomery malls, and got there just in time. They were about to close, but James was on a mission to get me a belt with a removable buckle like I'd wanted. We found one and bought it with a few minutes to spare. On our next trip, I plan on getting this and somehow forcing it to hold cigarettes.

We got lost looking for restaurants, and ended up downtown. After several lovely waterfountains, we found ourselves driving past THE '10 Commandments' courthouse (recent controversy) and saw history in the making. There was a speech being made, several station vans were there, as were protestors for both sides. I have mixed feelings about the whole thing. For starters, this country was based on being free from religious prosecution, hello, in God We Trust?? On the other, there's that whole separation of church from state thing. In one light, I respect the guy for standing up for himself, I just wish he did it better. And yes, I suppose he is in the wrong.

We stumbled across Kobe Jade Palace, which advertised $1 sushi, for which we swooned. I've never had 'real' sushi, just sushi rolls, and James (who's half filipino) was very sweet about showing me the steps. "First, you have to clean you palate by eating ginger. Do you know how to hold the chopsticks?..." It was really romantic. Of course I'd think that, though. I love trying new things. I did pretty well with the chopsticks, if you didn't notice the trail of rice I left. James teased me that when we get an apartment, there will be no silverware, just chopsticks. (Cereal???!) The food was interesting, and I liked it a lot. I had salmon roe, which is cold, sweet, beady, and wrapped in seaweed (I loooooove seaweed).

Not to be racist or to generalize (which is exactly what I'll end up doing, I'm sure of it), but the staff of most Asian restaurants I've been to tends to be snobby (in fact, I dislike saying this, but that has been my experience with most Asians, period). Last night, however, the staff was great and our waitress was really cute and nice. It's good to feel wanted/comfortable. However, I blame this treatment on James's good looks. I must say that he's pretty much shattered any prejudices I've ever had about Asians, even accidentally. That man is spectacular.

On the way home, we talked about how many people we've kissed (he's in the lead), etc (I'm in the lead, hahahaha), and how we'll react when our kids start having sex (not with each other). He confessed that he'd hoped tonight would make up for his flipping out of the night before. I was incredibly impressed. I've never had someone go that much out of their way just because they felt bad about a spat we'd had. Did I not tell you he's the most wonderful guy ever??

After a few detours, we went to my house and watched Head of State. That was the funniest movie I've seen in a long time (TO INCLUDE THE WOODY ALLEN FEST!). My favorite line was "How many of you work in a hospital you can't afford to be sick in? That ain't right!" I fully agree. My dad being a boss at the hospital and us not being able to go when we need to? What's up? Today, however, I was informed that b/c my mom is now working, I can go have my head(aches) checked out soon. This makes me happy. All I have to do now is get back in school.....Auggggh.

Tomorrow I go talk to the manager @ Ruby Tuesday. Wish me luck on getting a job.

I hope everyone's weekend went nicely. I wouldn't know since no one has updated, grrr.

I'm off to read my feminist literature. Have a nice night.

aigre-douce at 6:02 p.m.

previous | next