2004-09-02

My life as a nerd.

I have become completely obsessed with Final Fantasy: The Crystal Chronicles. It's so friggin' cute, I just can't help myself. Seriously, it's come to the point that I dream in game mode. In the game, there's this little circle that you have to stay in when you walk around, and if you walk out of the circle, you lose health. I've had dreams that I've had this little circle around me, and then to open things I have to charge up my weapon and do a focus spell on it, etc. Wow, I'm a big geek.

In my defense, I will say that there hasn't been anything else to do, though. Javaology still isn't open yet, nor have they called me to come help clean and get ready (but I'm on payroll, so I AM employed), and Tim and Brian haven't sent me a schedule yet, either. So, aside from playing with the puppy and being Suzie Homemaker to the best of my abilities with the materials I have, that's all I've done lately.

This morning I got up, ate some breakfast, and plopped down and started playing the game. Mind you, I'm in my pj's and have no makeup on, and my skin is acting up a little. Josh comes in (he somehow never sleeps here, just keeps his stuff here, and calls it home), and still, I don't jump up to make myself look decent. After about an hour or so, I finally felt gross enough to get up and get showered. I put my game on pause, took a quick shower, and when I got out, was unhappy to find Josh using the tv to play another video game. I made a few hints for him to go do something else, and when he didn't, I flat out told him that when I was done drying my hair (which takes less than five minutes now, since Mary Ann cut it again) and doing my makeup, I wanted to get back on my game. To make him feel like he wasn't getting run out, I made Josh some cinnamon toast and offered him some coffee as well. I tried to be polite and took as much time as possible getting dressed, and ended up with a look that I was sure, had anyone at Creative Loafing seen me, they would have stopped me to be in their little Dirty Looks article "The looks that make us look twice." I really hate it when I try to do something nice for somebody, and they completely take advantage of me instead. James and I have also had run-ins with both wanting to play video games simultaenously (this is usually not a problem, as he's normally on SWG, since he's superclose to becoming Jedi), and he could tell I was getting really pissed off about Josh not getting off the game, and announced that he was planning on buying another tv today for that very purpose.

I perfected my look some more while I waited for the boys to finish up, and went downstairs to see how the Javaology cards I'd put on the bulletin board in the mail room were doing. While I was checking my mail, a guy comes up to me, grins, and says 'hey' really enthusiastically, like he knew me and was really pleased to see me. I thought at first it was Soren's old brother, Brandon, with a new, less conservative style, and then realized I didn't know the guy at all. He said, "You are so beautiful!" This is the third time in a month's time that some random man has come up to me and said that. Each time I just say thank you, because I'm always alone when this happens, and I'm afraid what might happen if I were rude. I said thank you, and went on checking my mail. He told me that he really liked my style, and then explained that he was an artist. I told him I was a barista, and when he asked what that was, I explained to him it was someone who made cappuccino, etc., and handed him a Javaology card. The guy was really nice and actually not very sketchy (as were the other random men that told me they thought I was beautiful), and told me his name (which was really neat and unusual, but I dont' remember it now), and told me the name of his website (which try as I may, I really can't remember) and told me to email me sometime. It was just a neat exchange, neat because the guy actually seemed pretty nice and genuine, and without any sort of hidden agenda. I do intend to stop him and get his name and website again the next time I see him, pen in hand.

The boys finally came downstairs, and yes, we did get another tv. I got to pick, and we found a nice 20" flat screen silver tv for only $140. Afterwards we all met up for pizza at Fellini's. It's just been a great day.

That's pretty much it for me lately. I love having Liger. He's probably the sweetest dog I've ever come in contact with. As I say this, he is curiously looking on as James unloads the dishwasher. It's adorable.

Back to Crystal Chronicles. Here's $3 (because that's all I have right now) that says James will make Jedi before the sun rises.

aigre-douce at 10:24 p.m.

previous | next