2004-11-23

Home For the Holidays

Home for the Holidays

Yahoo! I can finally add an entry!

I'm home for the holidays. Yesterday I woke up extra energized, and decided instead of coming home today, we should leave as soon as possible. James thought it would be a smarter idea to leave today so we'd be fully prepared and well rested, but I scorned his idea and thought mine would me more time saving. On my break at work, I ran errands to get out of town earlier. When I finally got off work (an hour later than expected, and for no apparent reason or extra money), I picked up James and we whirled around town trying to get things done. Had it not been raining and had we not got lost, we would have been done with everything sooner, but oh well. I had a meeting at work at 9:30, and the plan was to leave immediately afterwards. The meeting did not end until almost 11, and I had not yet packed. However, I rushed home and packed, and James, Liger, and I headed to Alabama. Unfortunately, somehow my extra energy ran out as soon as I got behind the wheel, and the lights of the road and the moving of the clouds began to entrance me into a dream like stupor. James was right about waiting to leave until today being a better idea and getting some sleep. He made me pull over, and he drove the rest of the way home. The plan was for me to drive the last bit home, but when I woke up, I was confused about how to get the rest of the way home (everything looks different in the dark of early morning hours), and James, frustrated, gave up on me and drove the rest of the way home. He insisted that I sleep, because 'there's no use in both of us being awake'. Since I needed the car today, he drove to his house, and he and Liger got out, then I drove myself home through the fog. I felt horrible about demanding that we leave when we did and then not being awake enough to safely drive us home, and I know James was rightly furious about it. So I want to take this chance to thank James for being the amazing boyfrend that he is. Thank you for putting up with me, and being there for me when my plans don't work out and it turns out that your plans, in fact, were the better ideas. I love you.

With that said, as soon as I got home and unpacked the car, I collapsed into my brother's bed (who's not home right now). I put in my earplugs (his room is right next to the kitchen, which is rather noisy in the mornings), and slept until my dad woke me up this morning to see if I wanted to go out for lunch. My little sister is home sick with a nasty cold, so the three of us (Dad, my sister, and I) went to Carlisle's for lunch. I've always known Enterprise was a little backwards, but today I really saw things through an outsider's eyes. I was amazed to see a guy with missing teeth and a grizzly beard driving downtown in a tractor, no seatbelt. I was a little disgusted to see a girl wearing an EHS football tshirt ("Ain't no pity in Wildcat City") with the words "Git R Done" on the back. However, I was quite happy to be eating Miss Karen's chicken salad again. It's funny being home.

On that note, I'm getting my haircut like Audrey Hepburn's in Sabrina, so I must go now. More later.

aigre-douce at 2:24 p.m.

previous | next