2003-01-08

Orient this!

So, today was orientation at the junior college where I'll be attending this semester. . . It went surprisingly well, considering my friend Blair didn't show up. I hate being in large groups of unfamiliar people; it just makes me uncomfortable and a little paranoid, to be honest. I knew some of the faces there, but they weren't people I would've wanted to see. For example, this guy who sent me roses and tried to woo me when I was with Donald was there, and he's kind of trashy, but acted kinda snobby when I was friendly. I wasn't like, "HEY! HOW'VE YOU BEEN??!" or anything, I just smiled when he walked by and he gave me this disgusted, "I'm better than you" look, which I inwardly smirked at. I mean, I was just being friendly, because I'm gonna run into him in the future, and he's extremely trashy, but tried to have a better-than-thou attitude? Um, no. On the bright side, this girl Tanja was there, and she and I used to be really good friends in like the seventh grade, so we caught up some ,which was nice. There was a guy there with hair similar to mine (short and flippy) with a lazy smile who kept making eye contact with me. It was strangely comforting, for some reason.

On being bi-polar. . . today at orientation, we had to take this "What Color Are You?" personality test. Basically, you take the test, then whichever color you are shows you what kind of careers you would be interested in. I'm blue, which means that

"I need to feel unique and authentic. Enthusiastic. . . Sympathetic. . . Personal. . . I look for significance in life. Warm. . . Compassionate. . . Communicative. . . I need to contribute, to encourage, and to care. Idealistic. . . Spiritual. . . Sincere. . . I value integrity and unity in relationships. Peaceful. .. Flexible. . . Imaginative. . . I am a natural romantic, a poet, and a nurturer." There's more to that, but I'll spare you. The whole job-interest thing was correct; I'm all about some fashion, beauty, and journalism. The great thing is that I almost had as many points for green. . . the polar opposite of blue. Greens are stoics and very big on problem-solving. They like to analyze things to death. . . see last night's entry. I thought it was funny, just more evidence that I am, in fact, bi-polar. I had always suspected that. . .

Man, I was so tired when I got back from orientation that I went straight to bed. . . for a few hours. When I got up, I got sick, which was quite lovely, yuck. Monday all the kids were home and Mom went back to work (she's a teacher's aide), then Tuesday the kids went to school, but Mom was home, sick. Today Dad was off and Mom was still home sick. Tomorrow Mom will be back at work, but Dad got called in to work someone's shift tonight (he's the head nurse of ICU), which means instead of going to work tomorrow, he'll be home with me. I just want to be alone before having to go to school next week!!! I really cannot stand my family. They're so loud and forever angry about something. Pssssssh.

aigre-douce at 8:14 p.m.

previous | next