2003-02-10

Manic Monday

My plan for today was to get up in time to fix my wayward hair (it's had an attitude problem as of late, no matter what I do), do my makeup, throw on some clothes, eat, go to school, and come home after my first class if possible. Then I would do laundry, run around the house cleaning, and be happy. I did not plan to socialize much. Instead, here's what happened:

I woke up twenty minutes late, thanks to my alarm clock which I thought I'd turned on (I remember setting it and making sure it would be loud enough, but apparently I didn't turn it *on*, go figure. My hair was kerrrazy, so I fixed (or tried to) that. My face has decided to rebel against my good-skin attempts and just bust out, so I had to take care of that and do my makeup carefully. Then, of course, Mom's running late AS ALWAYS and needs me to do stuff for her. . . So after marinating the chicken and while I was about to throw some raisin bread into the toaster, the doorbell rings, and it's Kim. I think she came early today, not that I blame her. So then I'm throwing on some clothes, and I grabbed the same jeans I've been wearing for a week now (I know, but nothing else fits, except the pair with the big hole in the back, and by big, I mean *gaping*) and a cute sweater my sister let me borrow. It was a bit short, but cute in a Clueless way. WE WEREN'T LATE, YAAAY! On the way to school Kim tells me that she's not gonna go out to lunch, b/c she always ends up skipping Algebra on days she does that (her teacher has this crazy policy - she doesn't care how many days you miss, you just can't be tardy, go figure), and she needs to do homework, which I completely understand, but was ill-prepared for. B/c I'd planned to come home after my morning class (only class of the day), I only had my West Civ stuff w/me. I'd been running late b/c I had to do that stuff for Mom, and somehow neglected to put my powder in my purse. My makeup is rebelling as of late, too, for no reason. This morning I just put on minimal makeup, enough for class, but not enough if I was planning to socialize, which I wasn't. Anyway, my eyeliner/mascara decided to head south, which I only realized on the way back from Bethanie's. . . great. Hey, at least I found out at all? I've had a headache all day, mostly sinus, I think, and it refuses to go away. Damned persistent. Speaking of which, I ran into this guy I had a thing for last year today. . hope my makeup was semi-decent then. . . I'll just make sure to run into him Wednesday, looking cute, so as to not leave him w/such a bad lasting impression, as I never see him and haven't since grad night. Anyway, I ended up hanging out with Simon all day, not that I hated it, I just didn't have anything to do. I went to Bethanie's for a little while, then when we got back Simon invited me to go with him to pick up some lunch, and insisted on getting me something. We hung out (just the two of us for quite a while, since I guess everyone else has loads of classes on Mondays, and I guess he doesn't have any until later???), which was fun. Of course. Simon has become one of my best friends in this last couple of weeks, since we hang out all the damn time. I say that like it's a bad thing, but it's not. He looked really cute today, in this gray and orange tee. I guess it was just the colors that looked flattering? Anyway. It decided to warm up this afternoon, so I was definitely burning up in that sweater, but not in a sweaty way, I was just really hot. Note to self: Do not wear that sweater on days when energy is low, as it requires sucking in, since it reveals the tummy. . . And don't wear heeled shoes on days when walking across campus is necessary. Period. Shin splints, is that you? I'm pathetic, but it's just b/c I walk really fast, and those aren't the most comfortable shoes, anyway. I need a pedicure. Puh.

I took two of my Metabolites (that's good, actually; by this time of day, according to the bottle, I should've taken four, but I know better than that. . . I would definitely have a heart attack!) and then realized that that might not have been the smartest thing ever, since I had to take pseudophedrine for my sinuses. . . ughhh. Monday, Monday. . .

When I came home, I made a mental note to start locking the top lock, as I always forget. . . and then saw that my computer monitor was on. Normally when I get home, b/c of inactivity, the screen is gray, but today it was bright blue with all the icons up. I freaked out. I thought someone had been in the house, or still was, and called Dad. When I finally got in touch with him, he was like, "Oh yeah, someone messed with the monitor; when I got up this morning, it was like that." Dear God. I was so relieved. Anyway, I really am going to go do that laundry and do stuff around the house. It's just been one of THOSE days and I needed to share. On the upside, I did get a lot of compliments today, haha. I think that's funny, since I thought I looked like Edith Piaf in a too-short sweater, but I guess not. Whatever. That's guys for you. Have a lovely afternoon.

aigre-douce at 3:00 p.m.

previous | next