2003-03-13

"I guess you could say I'm a little afraid. What if you go away? I've seen it before,I've been there before."

I'm never ever skipping class again. Kim and I ducked out Tuesday, and it'll never happen again. I promise.

Last night I came home around 9 and thought about today's classes, and as Dr. Smith had give us essay preview example handouts, I thought I might just have something due soon. Sure enough, on the syllabus it said that our contrast/comparison essays were due today. Having done nothing on it, I stayed up until 3:45 this morning working on it. I finally gave up and headed to bed, thinking I'd just work on it some more today when I got home and turn it in late tomorrow, minus ten points. I got up this morning at 6:30, siiick. My sinuses, which had already been bothering me somewhat, apparently decided they wanted to take over my entire face, or so it felt. And my throat was super, super sore and all that other great stuff that goes along with that. I toughed it out and wore one of my Goodwill tees, jeans,flip flops, and big star earrings. (Aesthetics is a big part of my life which is why I included that.)

Was a little late to my 8:00 class, but it was okay. . . until I find out that there was something we were supposed to research for a grade that he didn't tell me about WHEN I ASKED YESTERDAY. So that's great.

Got my stuff done for philosophy, went to class. Before class started, a girl who's also in my Freshman Comp class turns to me, smiles, and asks, "So, what time are you taking your exit exam?" I just kind of looked at her funny. I had no idea what she was in reference to. Apparently Dr. Smith told our class Tuesday that we had exit exams today (no, really, he has not mentioned this since like the first day of school--I pay attention in class) and went over what we'd need to know (all we had to do was to write two basic essays). This wouldn't bother me so badly, had I not emailed the man, telling him why I was out (I was sick, but it was more of a skip thing), and specifically asked if there was anything crucial I would need to know for today's class. I'm not being assumptive, the man told us to email him when we would be out, etc. But did he email me, telling me anything? Nooooooo. So I'm a little annoyed, understandably. Anyway, I figure I'll just wing it, plus there's another chance to take the exam next month.

Get to class and find my friend Eric furiously scribbling out a thesis/map. I laughed and told him I wasn't done either, but was just going to turn it in late. My friend Amanda was like, "You can work on it all weekend, though," and looked at me funny. I reminded her that it's ten points off each day after the due date, and she gave me a queer look, nodded, and said, "Yeah, but it's due TUESDAY." In other words, I stayed up all night FOR NAUGHT. Dear God. Never again will I skip, I swearrrr. After class Simon and I peaced out, and I decided I'll just take the exam next month when I'm more prepared. I'm not worrying about not passing it, I just want to make as high a grade as possible (of course).

Ran around with Simon, Mrs. Bullard, and 'Doc', the psychologist, doing newspaper stuff. Interesting.

Got home at 3ish, checked my LACK OF EMAIL (he promised), went to bed. Got up at 6ish. Sicker. Worse headache, sorer (?) throat. Tiiiiired still.

Am happy, but lonely-ish. Not sad lonely, just wish-you-were-here lonely. Kim and Bethanie are out of town doing Entertainers stuff until tomorrow night. Miss my girls. I wish Elliott was here, I just want to lie and hold each other. I miss him I miss him I miss him. He has a bio exam tomorrow, so he has to stuuuuudy for it. He swore to me he'd be on (I've just taken to calling him the last coupla nights--good b/c I miss his voice) tonight. I want to go to bed (it's only 9!), but I want to talk to E more. More? Well, they're competing, anyway.

----------------

On another note, I think the subconscious is amazing. I love how you can know something but forget about it, then your subconscious brings it to your attention in dreams. I've had lots of (informative) dreams lately. I mean, it's not like there's a big booming voice that tells me what to do in life or anything, just little things. Like Cool Ranch Doritos, how I want to be surprised, and that there's a 4H in Tloosa tonight (I think). Little things that are important. My favorite dreams are the ones that are extremely creative or give me new ideas about how to do something.

-----------------------

Anyway. Elliott kept his word, so it's bedtime soon for me. Bon soir, and don't skip class.

Song of the Evening: "I Can't Catch You" by Sixpence None the Richer

aigre-douce at 8:14 p.m.

previous | next