2003-05-15

To Whom It May Concern:

Listen up:

If I let you borrow something, give it back. Especially if I make it crystal clear that I need it back the next day. And don't give me an attitude if I call three days later gently reminding you I need it back.

If we've made plans, get in touch with me if your plans have changed. Because I'm funny about people blowing me off.

If you ask me to burn 51 cds for you, don't hound me about it. And when I tell you I haven't been able to do it because my computer has not been working properly/fucking up, do not get an attitude. First of all, it's not like that isn't going to take all day to do if my computer is behaving. And chances are if I've already had problems with the thing, I'm a little annoyed to begin with. Just don't start.

If you have something to say, you can say it to my face. I'm a big girl. This isn't high school, and I will not put up with your bullshit. I will call you out. However, I will do it in a diplomatic manner. This is not elementary school, quit your name calling. And if I call you out on something, ante up. That's part of being an adult.

And no, it's not okay to ditch me for a guy. I don't care how wonderful he is, and I don't care how great things are going. Don't do it. And if you do decide a guy is more important, being sugary sweet to me the next time I see you will only piss me off more. Do not call me sweetie or baby.

And if you say you're going to do something, especially if you add the phrase "come hell or high water", you'd better do it. Otherwise don't open your mouth in the first place.

And listen. If I've busted my ass and have made sacrifices for you, I expect you to reciprocate or at least appreciate it and not take me for granted. Because I don't do that on a whim. You know that, so don't feed me excuses. You are an eighteen-year old man. You can stand up for yourself.

aigre-douce at 7:27 a.m.

previous | next