2003-08-03

lovers at the beach

Two-month anniversary, what's up!

James and I had a really nice weekend. I worked Friday morning, then he picked me up, I went home to pack, and off we set for Panama City Beach, FL. Dusty and Kimm were invited to come and stay with us (we ended up having to get a two-bedroom place, anyway), but Kim was sick, so they didn't. I honestly wonder if they would have if she wasn't sick....Anyway, not the point.

On the way down there, it was really stormy. When we got there, however, it was a little better. We found a really cute place to stay called the Island Breeze and not only did we get there in time to get a room, but it was super nice and came with a kitchenette. Wow.

Friday evening was amazing and the beach was nice (even if there was much seaweed abound). We went to Montego Bay, and had the best waitress ever.

We had: Alligator strips with sauce, oysters, crab bisque, Jamaican jerk shrimp, and scallops and shrimp fettucini alfredo. Simply wonderful. Afterwards, we headed to Publix (supermarket of the gods is all I can say) where we found lots of Looza. Which makes my heart sing. I'm telling you, if a Publix were to open in Enterprise (despite the fact that, you know, it seems to be a strictly Florida thing), there would be NO SHAME in my game about working there. I would love it. Of course, it might cease to remind me of the wonderfulness of Florida after a little while, but THAT'S not the point.

After that, we went home to the hotel room (felt more like home than anything here) and crashed. Apparently I am a bed Nazi. I'm sorry. I wish I had held you when you had that nightmare. Instead of passing back out. It's not a matter of not caring, I had had no sleep for days and was just exhausted. I'm sorry. I love you.

At ten the next morning, I woke up to a sweet James....and the phone rings. Apparently we were supposed to be out of there by ten.... Vacation? Sleeping in? What's up?? I still have yet to figure out why they couldn't have been more explicit about that when we checked in. Or, for that matter, why they needed us out at that hour, if they only had one-nighters, anyway, and we were willing to pay another night. Jackasses. At any rate, we had to drive around and find another room to shower in, etc. Yeah, good luck on that on a Saturday in PC. Let me know how that works out for you. Ugggghhh. So we found one (a very Panama City circa spring break-esque room. I love my James.) We ended up not going to the waterpark ( = grumpy James), but going to the amusement park across the street, instead. Which was fun, actually. Went to the beach, and as soon as we started leaving, it started storming. It was really nice while we were there, though. It was a kinda stormy weekend, so the beach wasn't crowded like usual. Which was extremely nice. I sat on the beach, smoked a single cigarette (I've been cutting back a lot lately, actually), and then tore off my skirt and halter (was wearing bikini underneath), and ran into the ocean. Impressive only b/c I'm always a little squeamish about the water ANNNNND I got my hair and face wet (I'm very self-conscious about that). And we swam out and he saved me from a jellyfish. I love him. It was very cute. After the beach we went and cleaned up (I've decided my favorite times of the day at the beach is in the morning and at dusk) back at the hotel room. Our room had some missing blinds, and there's a walkway right in front of the room, so you had to be ultra-careful not to give a peep show (which no, would not have been that great as there were some drrrrrrrrrrrunk guys trying to watch). I like that I can feel secure when I'm around James and not have to worry about anything, because I know that if he's there, I'm safe.

By the time we were all cleaned up and packed, the weather had subsided some, so we went ahead and went back to the amusement park. Though I usually love roller coasters and the like, for some reason I was having an aversion to motion Saturday night. The thrill was fun, and the Ferris Wheel attendant had a boycrush on James. Afterwards we ate and went home, meaning I slept all the way back.

It was a nice trip. I got home, and could not sleep b/c I had nightmares and I didn't have James by my side. I do, however, have banana nectar....

aigre-douce at 5:47 p.m.

previous | next