2003-08-04

Urgh

Today has not been perky at all.

This morning it was all nice and stormy, meaning wonderful sleep weather. Problem is, I slept a bit too long and ran late.

Duh, I always run late.

After much cajoling, Mom made me some fried bananas.....ooooh yummmmm. That was about the height of my day, though.

I called Tony, as we were supposed to hang out last night then didn't get to, and he's going back to Tuscaloosa tomorrow. I may not get to see him since he has to pack....And that sucks. I'm going to miss Tony a lot.

Due to worries of a flat tire, I got to class, oh, about 20 minutes late. And we were reviewing like mad for the final. Gahh. She left the room at one point, but had not given us a break and a few of us were having nic fits (I'm so lame), so we took a break of our own accord and went outside and smoked..... As David and I were going back in (everyone else had already left but we were dreading it), I opened the door for us....and promptly sliced my big toe open (next to my toenail, no less) with the bottom of the heavy metal door. It started bleeding like mad, and of course I had worn my white flipflops today (to cheer me up)....meaning there's blood on them. Gerrrrrosssss. The teacher excused me, and I went to the bookstore to see if they sold BandAids.....nope. So I bought some Kleenex and double-sided tape (b/c that's all that was available). I was sitting in the Student Center, in the process of applying pressure to the wound to make it stop bleeding when a woman walked up, sat down next to me, and asked me about my wound. Turns out she's a mother of three teenage daughters (who are pretty accident-prone like me, apparently) and happened to have a mini first aid kit on her. And was super sweet and gave me a large BandAid. I thought, "Man, the courtesy of strangers...you gotta love the South."

Now my only worry (besides, of course, the fact that I can't get my bellyring back in, which depresses me unbelievably, and the fact that James is in the hospital and my mom won't drive me to see him since it's her last day off, I mean) is my toenail, which the woman who helped me is afraid might have to come off, due to where the injury is. Siggggghhhh. That's so gross. And I love my feet, too.

Ah, time to go home.

aigre-douce at 1:03 p.m.

previous | next