2003-09-25

can't sleep

It is almost 4 in the a.m., and despite the sinus meds in me, I cannot sleep.

I did, however, finish Blue Diary by Alice Hoffman, an author I usually enjoy. She wrote Here On Earth and Practical Magic (movies do not do books they are based upon justice!!), which I loved. I did not, however, love Blue Diary. It was a 300+ page disappointment in the extremes. I was v. sad upon finishing it, but only because I had taken time out to start it in the first place. Really, really bad book. Maybe it's because I like happy endings, but it just saddened me. I understand Nicholas Sparks's sad endings. This book, I did not understand. It wasn't so much a sad ending as it was a sad beginning.

To make a long (which I forbid you to read) story short, there's this perfect couple, the it couple of some small town in Massachussetts that's just absolutely perfect, etc, etc. One day the couple plays hooky from work, makes love most of the morning, then the husband gets arrested for a crime he committed 15 years ago. Apparently he'd done several horrendous things, but after raping and murdering a young (redheaded) girl, he came to his senses, changed his name, moved, and became a new person, the hero of the town. So this woman is in love with someone she doesn't even really know, because he never told her what happened back in the day. Ahhh, dishonesty. Does this story sound at all familiar???

I got the point. And have moved on, and am much happier now. Thank you for understanding, it means the world to me.

I feel nauseous, despite the fact that all I've eaten today is a bit of Jello. Perhaps it's the fact that I'm on the edge of starving, and it's nearly 4 in the morning, annnd I'm still awake. Hmmm.

And because I'm still awake:

Conscious self
Overall self
Take Free Enneagram Test

ESFP - "Entertainer". Radiates attractive warmth and optimism. Smooth, witty, charming, clever. Fun to be with. Very generous. 13% of the total population.
Take Free Myers-Briggs Personality Test

I have issues with...
immortality
fast
fall
temporary
weather
Take Word Association Test

And because I'm extremely, very, very paranoid, I took this one, putting in all outcomes possible, even those that are v. improbable. I like the answer quite a lot.

The Oracle Advises...

marrying james

Ask the Oracle a Question

aigre-douce at 3:43 a.m.

previous | next