2004-01-01

Hello Kitty Calendar 2004

I've definitely been putting off updating, but I guess I'll take the plunge. . .

This past week has been crazy. First James and I broke up, but still acted like a couple. Then he asked me to be his girlfriend again on Tuesday. Today is our 7 month anniversary, not counting the five days we were not a couple. Confusing, yes. And while we're back together, we're taking things lighter, spending less time with each other, not planning on getting married, moving in together, etc. Not as far as I am aware, anyway. And I'm trying to decide what to do with my life right now.

My family went to Mobile on Tuesday, and that night James stayed with me. Desiree came into town from VA and she and her boyfriend, Jimmmie, stayed with me, too. The past two days were a blast. Yesterday morning we got up early and got manicures and pedicures. My toenails are now black with white, pink, and yellow polka dots. Hotttttt. While I was getting my nails done, James bought me I-Ninja, the cutest video game in the world. Afterwards the four of us went to Carlisle's for lunch, and then to Desiree's hairdresser, Young. I want to be Young when I grow up. Which may be a problem, as she is asian and I am not. She has the cutest hair ever, though. James got his mullet cut (it's so cute now) and Desiree got her hair trimmed. When we got back to the house, naps and showers were taken. James and I had decided we were going to bleach streaks into our hair (his is black, mine is red) and then dye the streaks pink. Desiree bleached the streaks into my hair, and I did James's. Mine was a nightmare. I have never cried so much over my hair ever. There were parts of my hair with white roots and Bride of Frankenstein-ish streaks. So this morning James and I got up early and ran to Walmart for some red hair dye. I will never again underestimate the beauty of my hair. I've always been told I have gorgeous red hair, but you know, the same hair, no matter how pretty, gets old after 19 years. But never again will I ever try changing the color. Ever ever ever. Desiree and I dyed it a shade pretty close to my natural color today, so I feel much better. Good lord, I learned my lesson. I still fully intend on getting the pink streaks, but James insists I go to a professional for that.

As for my New Years Eve, it was pretty good, minus the hair part. I made a spicy pumpkin soup, and a pastry with brie. And served smoked salmon with cream cheese. I made sure to wear my yellow underwear, which everyone knows is for good luck. And ate grapes for the same reason. For the first time in my life, I was actually able to do something for New Years instead of being stuck with my family in Mobile. It was soooo nice. I even had someone to kiss! I'm very thankful for my James.

And, of course, I absolutely love my Aunt Desiree. Hahahahhahaa. She made me two country CDs for my listening pleasure. I've never really liked country music, but Desiree is all about it, so I've found a few songs I really like. Like '5:00 Somewhere' by Alan Jackson and Jimmy Buffet, some Dixie Chick songs, and a song about a woman who only smokes when she drinks, she rarely drinks, and she only drinks alone. All very good. Desiree is going to be here for another 6 days.....I love my life.

After having non-stop company (if not the family, James, Jimmie, or Desiree) for the last few weeks, I am home alone all by myself. Well, the kitties are here, of course, but. I'm dead tired but I know if I go to sleep, I'll only be woken up in 45 minutes when everyone gets back from Mobile. Ah.

What I Bought with My Christmas Money:

*A Polaroid Camera

*Polaroid film (grunt)

*'Bombshell' heels; black velvet slides with black feather on the top

*Other bedroom attire

*Hair dye

*Gloss for dye

*Highlighting wands for dye

*Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris

*Gold paint (which I fully intend on using soon) (see Pillow Book with Ewan McGregor in it)

*Glitter-flecked paintbrush

I feel very accomplished. In the past two days alone I've done things I've wanted to do all year (Polaroid, ahem; cook a nice dinner for guests; dye my hair). I will admit that the hair dyeing didn't work out well, but at least I finally did it. Next on the agenda: tattoo. And now I know exactly what I want.

Question: Does this template make reading too difficult? Do tell. I can always change it.

I think that's about it for now. Oh, and I got hit on by a guy in Po Folks tonight, ah ha. I wasn't feeling that great about how I looked, so it was funny. Right afterwards, Desiree was like, "I hate going anywhere with you! I always think I look cute, and then you always seem to show me up!" I'm quite envious of Desiree's knack for always looking great, so I rather enjoyed that.

Okay, off to playing with the kitties. Yeah, the ones who are ridiculously hyper when left alone in the living room and break my mom's plant. Those kitties.

aigre-douce at 6:50 p.m.

previous | next