2004-02-17

Tuesday

Yesterday was Cam's 14th birthday, so since James is now a member of the family, he came over. We were playing Soul Caliber 2, and the jank controller he had bought wasn't working correctly, so we headed to Walmart to get a new one. I'd been talking about wanting to check out the new Mario Kart game (Double Dash), and James totally surprised me by buying it for me (along with some face wash, powder, and mascara). That game is really cute (and I totally kicked James's butt at it, so he was mean to me since he's a sore loser). I plan on playing it some more today, as well as some I-Ninja. I made James be the one to give Cam his gift, and it was really cute. Cam loved it (we got him a nice helmet), and James looked proud.

Apparently someone tried to break into my house while I was in New Orleans. So yesterday morning (a Monday), I was quite disturbed to wake up to slamming noises in my kitchen (when I thought everyone was at work, school). I thought maybe the people who tried to break in were making a second attempt, but instead, it was my family. Eff President's Day, I say. So today I was looking forward to having the house to myself for one day before I have to head back to Mobile on Thursday (next paragraph). I wake up, and damned if there aren't voices in my house; my parents both played hookey from work. Goddammit. The upside is I'm making them take me out to lunch, and hopefully the library.

As for Mobile: Yesterday my cousin Michelle called me to ask if I could babysit her sons for the weekend because she and her husband have to go to a ball. I was confused, as we live three hours away from each other, but she explained that if I agreed, she would come pick me up on Thursday, then stay till Monday or Tuesday, or however long I wanted, and she'd even take me shopping and to the Mardi Gras parades. Needless to say, I'm going. I'll miss James, but I won't miss this house. The entire time I was gone, my face stayed clear. As soon as I came back here, it started breaking out like whoa. So maybe my family stressing me out is the cause of my acne? It turns out that the Mobile branch of EOCC is only for aviators, so now I have to pick a new community college to attend this summer, if I'm still going to go along with my original plan. Of course, now James may not be going to Boston because someone needs to take care of the dogs. The selfish part of me wants him to stay, but the more rational side knows how much he wants to go, and how he should visit with his family, since he hasn't seen them in about six years. Maybe I can just go with him? Hahaha.

Off to lunch!

aigre-douce at 12:16 p.m.

previous | next