2004-03-08

Surprise, surprise

Yesterday at lunch (Chinese), I was talking to Dad, and the conversation basically went like this:

Me: So, right now you should have your W-2s handy, right?

Him: What?

Me: Like, I'm sure you just did your taxes, so you should know exactly where they are then, right?

Him: Yeah, why?

Me: Because right now would be a great time for me to fill out a pell grant form, but I have to have your W-2s to do so. Remember I asked you last time, and it took nine months to get them out of you? So if you could, just put it by the computer so I can fill it out online.

Him: Okay.

So this morning, I get on the computer briefly to do the usual, and see a small slip of paper by the computer. Intrigued, I pick it up. DA-DA-DA-DAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! My dad's W-2. And less than 24 hours after I had asked him!! You do not understand, this a serious breakthrough. Good lord, I may have to find some kind of treat to give him for this. I am impressed.

Also, yesterday after lunch, Mom decided she absolutely HAD to see Passion of the Christ. [Writer's note: Chinese food and three hour movies do not mix well, especially movies accompanied with subtitles to a story you already know.] We get to the theater, and low and behold, there is a line of people snaking along the building. So I get in the back of the line, right? What does my mother do? CUTS IN LINE IN FRONT. Understandably, I was not only terribly embarassed but very angry at her as well. I turned to my dad and was like, "She's cutting in at a movie about Christ. Do you SEE any hypocrisy going on here?!" Interestingly, he did not start making angry threats at me. Instead, he nodded and agreed with a wry smile and said, "You'll notice I'M not the one in line. That would be your mother." I was quite angry. I mean, really. It's not Harry Potter, it CAN'T be that important! Just kidding. But seriously, what point is it to go to a movie about Christ if you act that way? I turned to Dad and made the remark that, "You know, maybe it's better for her to cut in, because hopefully this movie will witness to her and make her want to be a Christian." He laughed. This is the kind of day-to-day hypocrisy I'm talking about here. It's not that I'm mad at God, because I'm not. Most of the time, I just can't stand his "followers", that's all.

As for the movie itself, you'd have to see it for yourself. I already had a headache and wasn't in the mood to see any movie at all, I just wanted to go hoome and go to bed, so anything I say about it won't really give it justice one way or another.

Something else that my family has done and pleasantly surprised me by doing so: cleaned the house while I was gone on Saturday. By 'cleaned the house', I am, of course, omitting the hall bathroom. While it's not that difficult to clean, they just didn't do it for whatever reason. All the plants that my mom had dragged in during the winter to fight off the cold spells are now outside in the sunshine, so my house no longer resembles an impromptu safari scene. Very nice.

Oh yeah! I almost forgot the most important part of my weekend! James had invited me a while back to go with his family to their accountant in Pensacola when they all went to do their taxes together. So Saturday was the day they had planned for this, and they were leaving at 7:00 in the morning to drive over there. Friday night James and I were hanging out at my house and discussing how everything was going to work out. Basically, he would be getting up super early to come and get me and then go to Pensacola. He suggested me spending the night at his house, and asked if my parents would let me. I had been thinking of other places I could say I was spending the night, but decided I'd just ask my parents for the hell of it. I went into the living room, explained the situation, and asked if I could spend the night there. I explained that his mom would make him sleep on the couch and me on his bed anyway (because that's what she did when I spent the night there once; my parents didn't know) and not only that, but I was having my period so it's not like we'd do anything anyway (ahem). My dad asked my mom what she thought, she said she didn't know, and he was like, "Yeah, you can go." I was extremely surprised/impressed. Usually, my parents would be like, "Hell no, period or no period, I don't trust anyone or anyone's parents, NO, and that's final."

Soooo I packed up my stuff, and off to his house we went. His parents didn't make us sleep separately after all, but we went to bed early anyway, so it's not much of a taboo subject. I slept very well (usually I wake up several times during the night when we sleep in the same bed, for various reasons) and we got up super early. I am very proud to say that I was ready to leave the house in 15 minutes (extreme record time for me), and so we were on our way pretty early. James and I have fun road trips together. And we damn sure should, since we've been on a good amount of them, I think. Not long road trips, just like 3 hours one way max. We had beef jerky and Snickers granola bars for breakfast and acted ridiculous as usual, picking up novelties at gas stations, etc. Once we got there, we were told to leave our tax information and come back in about two-three hours, so James and I went to lunch -The Olive Garden, I got some coffee-Starbucks, and we looked at home furnishings at the mall. Do I not have a great boyfriend? I get spoiled ridiculously; he's so good to me. Although, apparently I have to beat I-Ninja before I can get any new games for MY Gamecube. That's right, MY Gamecube. He's buying another one for himself, and letting me keep the one I am so attached to.

While we were at the mal in Pensacola, I kept hoping that Durand would peek around the corner, since that's the last place I saw him. He did not make an appearance of course; he's at Disney World right now.

Today James is supposed to come over so we can play with our gas station novelties. Also, I have a tax refund thing to mail (I'll get $3 from the IRS, and $23 from Alabama), some laundry to do, and I want to clean the bathroom and some other things. It's spring outside; I'm happy and motivated.

aigre-douce at 8:45 a.m.

previous | next