2004-04-07

Cakedaddy

I haven't given James credit for the past two weekends we've gone out of town, and it's time to remedy that. Here goes.

A few weekends ago, James and I headed to Mobile on the spur of the moment. We originally went to get apartment information under the guise of going to an arts and crafts festival. We stayed at Gulf Shores for two nights in a row, and got another taste of the domestic life together (which we both adore). We bought ridiculous sunglasses, ended up doing laundry at a laundromat, hunted for old books, and went to my favorite restaurant on the beach, Sea & Suds.

We made the mistake of going during spring break, and had to put up with lots of stupidity because of it, to include drrrrunk girls grabbing up on James. Also, I had to go out to the car at one point the second night, and was coincidentally really pissed off, and accidentally broke the room key in the door, and had to put up with a guy ogling me while I waited for James to open the door.

We visited a lot with my Uncle Donald, his wife, and their friend, John. James loves Donald and Mary, for the record. Which makes me estatic. While we were there, we also visited Michelle, Cliff, and the kids. Durand was sooo happy to see me, and almost cried when I started to leave to go shopping, so I brought him with me. He's the cutest little kid ever. James taught Durand to pronounce 'khaki' as "tacky", but I had to un-teach him that, because when he goes to school, he'll have to wear uniforms. James's little prank also backfired, because Durand used "tacky" to describe lots of things and colors, namely James's "I Ain't Scared" hat (which he wears as a joke, but I'm not a fan of). I thought it was funny. I looooove that kid. He gave me some St. Patrick's beads, too. So cute. James gave me a small shopping allowance, and with it I bought a black polo, a Hello Kitty shirt that says "Fo Sizzle" on it, and a black cotton adjustable skirt that ruffles at the bottom, and has tiny white polka dots on it. When we got back from shopping, a very tanked Cliff showed up, which was humorous; he was EXTREMELY happy to see me.

We ended up never getting any apartment booklets, but Michelle did tell us about a cute condo that Cliff's dad lets, so we're looking into that. We also never ended up going out onto the Gulf Shores beach, but we made up for that by stopping at the Pensacola beach on the way back. There's a small beach in the State Park, and despite it being super cold and windy, we had fun. We went to Red Lobster for dinner where we had piss-poor service, but seriously good food.

This past Saturday, we went to Pensacola for the day, to make up for not seeing each other much this past week. The day got off to a pretty horrific start, but straightened out to be pretty rad. We planned to spend the day at the beach, but also did some shopping. James's mom is funny and likes to not only do his laundry at the weirdest times, but also doesn't finish drying them. Since all his clothes were in the washer, soaking wet, James was stuck wearing his brother's clothes (who's the same size, but has a completely different style), and needed to get new swim trunks. We hit up the neighborhood Target, where we both got new swimsuits and saw dozens of babies. I got a black bikini that I'm very proud of.

While in Target, I saw something very startling. I was walking towards Electronics, trying to find James, and I saw this baby/toddler that looked pretty normal, except it had an exceedingly large, tomato-colored head. The baby's head was not flushed, the whole thing was tomato red. Ears, neck, everything. Now, you need to understand first that the day before this, I had just finished reading Wicked by Gregory Maguire. It's about the Wicked Witch of the West, whose real name is Elphaba. Elphaba was born green, and had a gorgeous sister who was born without arms. Understandably, seeing a baby with a tomato soup red head after reading that book made me question my own sanity. After all, I was running a very little amount of sleep. However, it wasn't me; the child really was disfigured. It was so sad.

After lunch at Chik-fil-a, we went to the beach. James gave me a quick tour of Ft. Pickens, which is supposed to be haunted. We found an awesome spot on the beach. Somehow, the water had made a small cliff out of the sand (interesting, because it wasn't there a few weekends ago, and we went to the same spot), and it looked like we were king and queen of that area of the beach. The night before, I had tried some sunless tanning spray, and made a major mess with it, so I concentrated mostly on trying to even out my "tan". It mostly worked, except then I sunburned. I finally gave up, and made out with James in the so-cold-it-made-us-ache sea. James has never given me flowers, and I've just about given up on the idea, so it made me smile when he gave me a flower-shaped seashell he found. It was cute. We're a pretty sexy couple on the beach, what can I say.

The beach finally got way too windy and chilly for our comfort, so we dried up and left. We went back to Target to see if they sold any good jeans, and they didn't, so we headed to the mall. James has been promising me to get me some new jeans, and some shoes, so while trying to figure out what to do in Pensacola (instead of straight eating and going home), I jokingly suggested we go shopping. James totally took me seriously, even when I told him I was joking, so we did indeed go shopping. I've been needing to go shopping for an Easter dress with Mom, but due to schedule/money conflicts, we haven't been able to. So James offered to buy me a dress and jeans to make up for earlier.

We headed straight to Dillards, and I tried on an armful of dresses, to include some that were actually designed for people with wide hips and not so large chests. James fell in love with a pink 1940s-esque dress I tried on, and immediately bought it. He's so cute. His second favorite was a strapless dress that flared at the hips and had tulle under it, kind of a 1950s party dress. Something Marilyn Monroe would have worn, with polka dots and everything. I must say, I'm very impressed with my boyfriend's taste in clothing.

We went to the Gap for jeans. James found his almost immediately, but I had to take a little longer....I'm convinced they only keep tall people in mind when making their clothing. I got some size 4 jeans, but they have an extra foot of fabric on the legs, so I really need to get them hemmed soon. After shimmying into our new jeans in the car, we went to dinner. We were going to go to Chili's, in commemoration for our anniversary (since our first date was @ a Chili's), but it was packed, so we ended up going to Longhorn Steakhouse. James made me get steak (I wanted pasta, but "we came to a steakhouse for steak, not pasta!!"), and it was actually really good. I was impressed.

After dinner, I got some coffee and we headed back to Target (Target is to Pensacola as Walmart is to Enterprise). James got the Jet cd, and I got Chingy cd. I think we were both pretty disappointed with our selections. I'm too much of a feminist to listen to Chingy, I do believe. Plus, the only good songs on there are the singles anyway.

I got the coffee to keep me up so I could drive, but I started seeing things when it was my turn to drive, so James drove alllll the way to my house, which was a blessing.

So that was the great two weekends that we've had, that I haven't said anything about till now. Now, for yesterday:

I was having a bad morning yesterday (as you know if you read yesterday's update). James and I already had plans for yesterday, so I went ahead and called him to come over. He rolled out of bed, threw on some clothes, and came over. We made out and showered, and he took a nap while I got ready. We picked the kids up from their respective schools and gave them a brief education of metal and the like on the way to Mom's school. Dropped them off, and headed to Ozark. Had lunch at Applebee's (for the love of God, do NOT every try to order Chicken Wraps with the Tequila Lime Chicken; they fucked that alllll up), and headed to James's house. SWG wasn't wanting to load, so I gave up and joined James in napping. When I got up, I 'grinded' Dancing 4 (and made it!), and made several admirers on the game.

Really, SWG is nice for my social life. Just this morning, Scene King himself IM'd me, wanting to talk about the game and the movies. It was great. Scene King being Josh Hollis (of Forever Is Not A Wish, also James's best friend). I found that quite funny.

Alright, I have spent far too much time online today for my own liking, and am about to end this entry. Before I go, however, I will give short updates on two different situations:

1. Nichol is being an ass itch. I hate her, and she owes me money, and she's showing no intentions of paying me back. I'm poor, and actually really do need that money. So, even though it made me cringe, I talked to her boyfriend, Mike, online about it. I explained to him that she may be poor, but so was I, and she still owes me money. Mike offered to give Nichol the money to pay me back, so hopefully that will work out. While Nichol is still on my shit list, I wouldn't dream of adding Mike to it. He re-instilled some of my faith in humans.

2. I talked to James about the whole tattoo thing, and while I may not get the revolver tattoos after all (yes Jon, I was sad, too), I might get some small stars or a small skull on my hip after all. This makes me happy.

Today I requested more info from colleges. Here's to hoping it all gets here soon, and that Michelle answers her phone in the near future.

aigre-douce at 2:11 p.m.

previous | next