2004-04-09

The fun that Easter preparation is often not.

Damn, I've been craving pancakes and woke up to the smell of them in the house. I go to the kitchen, and not only has everyone already left, but they've left the kitchen super disgusting. Anyway, come to find out, they didn't have pancakes, they had French Toast, and either way did not save any for me. Fuck a bunch of that. Any suggestions on making just two or three pancakes??

Yesterday was uncomfortable. I woke up, jumped online and chatted with Desiree for a little while. It started to rain really hard, so I decided I'd watch old movies on the couch. Right as I was about to get offline with Desiree, lightning hit somewhere behind my back yard, and the electricity went out. There was a flash of light in the midle of my screen which briefly reminded me of the temple splitting when Christ died.

Anyway, the power went out, and after about an hour and a half of waiting for it to come back on, I called the electric company outage hotline. Thank god for cell phones, but damn, I wish I didn't have such bad service in Enterprise! After the second time of me calling (and having to hang up since the reception was so poor), I finally got through, and was told that the electricity should be back on by 1:00. Not the best news, since James and I had plans,and I needed to shower (hot water, cd player, lights) and get ready (blowdryer, flatiron, etc).

There apparently aren't enough candles in our house to light up the small hall bathroom and take a bath, so I gave up, went to my parents' well-lit bathroom (the sun came out), and did my nails. I was amused to reflect that the first thing I did since I couldn't get online or anything in the meantime (and I'd already called Desiree) was my nails. Especially since I don't usually pay them enough attention as it is. Me doing my nails turned into a mini day-spa. I took care of my cuticles, buffed out all of the dents I had, filed them, but I did not polish them. Then I decided to remove all extraneous hair (belly, arms, you get the idea), took a long shower, exfoliated, did a special moisturizing treatment for my hair, etc. And then once I was out of the shower, I made sure to moisturize all over (which I desperately need, but rarely do).

I'd called James earlier, when the electricity fiasco happened, to talk about the plans for the day. At the time, he was super dead tired, so I let him sleep more and got off the phone. As I was getting dressed, I called him back (this was 2:00) to wake him up and talk about plans. I'd already been given the feeling that he was going to try to get out of hanging out, since the evening before he said something about maybe not falling through with plans (though he had promised me we'd do something), and he'd suggested we hang out Friday instead, which was when I'd planned to go shopping with Mom. So when I called at 2, he kept saying he was really tired, and told me he'd started aching all over. He didn't show any other signs of being sick or anything, just ached. Given that he had already sounded like he was going to try to get out of following through with plans, to me, his achiness seemed a bit too convenient, and I hung up on him, something I'd never done before. I heated up my steak and vegetables, and watched The Big Kahuna (Kevin Spacey, Danny DeVito). There's this song that plays at the end of the movie, this guy giving advice, called The Sunscreen Song. Anyway, listening to that and watching the ending of the movie inspired me to call James back (something I was not planning on doing).

I called to apologize, because I wanted him to understand that I was mad at him because of him ducking out of plans (again; see last week), but I did want to see if he was feeling any better (because angry as I may be, him aching all over isn't the best news). We talked for about an hour and a half (not me begging to hangout or anything, just talking to him about how when I'm out of town, all he talks about is wanting to see me, but let me be in town, and my value seems to go way down to him), and he got off the phone, angry with me, and said he'd call me back later. Frustrated, I asked Mom if she was planning on taking me shoe shopping on Friday or Saturday, and she acts like she never said she'd do it in the first place. Understandably, this made me really pissed off, since all she had to pay for was shoes; James bought me a $60 dress. Then she suggested that on her way to Walmart, she and I go to Payless. I was fuming. I need a nice pair of shoes. The boots that I got for Christmas are great, but they're boots. I live in Southern Alabama; I obviously cannot wear them year-long. And for her to only have to pay for shoes, and then want me to get something really cheap really pissed me off. However, having nothing else to do but wait for James to call back, I agreed to go and got ready. I called James to tell him that if he needed to get in touch with me, to call my cell phone instead of my room phone. Fuming, he asks where I'm going, and I tell him, wondering why he's so mad that I'm going somewhere. Apparently he'd showered and got ready to come over to see me "to satisfy [me]". Fuuuuuuuck. We agreed that I would just call when I was about to come home, so he could go ahead and be on his way.

We go to Payless, and I know exactly what kind of shoes I want to go with my dress. My dress is pink with a pink and black lace overlay, has a satin pink belt/sash at the waist, with a small circle of "pearls" in the middle of it. The shoulders and neck of the dress are kind of weird, though. It's a sleeveless dress, pretty much, but the collar of the neck is supposed to go around my shoulders (think of a boatneck shirt, only lower), but it's acting funny, so I may have to pin it. Anyway, I wanted some sexy black slingbacks to go with my dress, which I didn't think I'd find at Payless. Within two minutes, I'd found pretty much the exact shoes I wanted in my size, and was out of there. Hopefully the shoes last.

Went to Walmart, got what I needed, and realized Mom was leisure shopping, so I called James to tell him I was done, and he could pick me up there if he didn't want to wait longer. This made me remember why I no longer ever go anywhere with my family (all the kids decided to go with us to Walmart and Payless, oh, the joy); Mom takes forgoddamnever, and the kids are annoying, immature, and fight among themselves loudly. I especially enjoyed their fighting when we were supposed to be picking out Easter candy, and then Mom had an attitude and the whole aisle stared at us. see someone I know in Walmart (or anywhere, for that matter), I smile, nod, and finish what I came there to do. Mom, on the other hand, visits. Never again, I swurr.

James called to say he was almost there, and on my way to go tell Mom I was leaving, I ran into a guy who used to go to the coffeeshop on Saturdays. His name is Joe, and he recognized me. Being that he's a flight student, I would have thought that he would be done and gone already, but I guess not. This causes me to wonder exactly how long the program is, who else is still in the area, or if Joe just fucked up.

James picked me up, and we rode in virtual silence to a Chinese restaurant. He was apparently still angry at me, and was only coming to hang out so I couldn't say he didn't. Most of the meal was in silence, and we only really started talking right before the check came. I grabbed an apartment booklet on the way out, and found out that you can call an 800 number and order booklets for other areas. Yessss! That takes care of one problem.

Because we didn't feel like hanging out with either of our families, and there wasn't anything to see or do in Enterprise, we headed to Dothan. James had said he'd go to chuuuch with me on Sunday (since it's Easter, and I'd be all dressed up), so we shopped for a dress shirt for him. We sneaked into one of the Gap fitting rooms together (did nothing more than kiss), and I helped him try on things. He got his dress shirt, and I grabbed a shirt a lot like the one he loves on me so much (only this one was looser, and without a bleach streak) for $9. Went to a music store, ordered the Eisley CDs, and he got a metal cd and a new cd holder (which he desperately needed). After looking at girl shoes, we left and went to see The Ladykillers, in the ghetto side of the Dothan theater. It was enjoyable, but not the best movie I've ever seen, although it did get points for not being predictable. I quite liked that Marlon Wayans had the same Jesus Is My Homeboy hat that I do, only mine is white and pink, and his is white and dark blue.

By the end of the evening, James and I were back to near-perfect. I was a little unsure of how he really felt, until I read his LJ entry from today (click on Love of My Life link on the right). So, everything's good.

Today the whole family is off from school and work (%^&*%$#@!! fuck some government holidays, that's what I have to say), and they're all going to Dothan. Mom told me I should go to look for 'decorative pins' to fix my dress with, but I had to give her the nano. A whole day crammed up with the family, and no way out?? I think I'll pass, thanks all the same. I told her she could shop for them for me, since even when I do go, she always finds stuff like that, and I do not. Wish her good luck, haha.

K, that's all for now.

aigre-douce at 12:19 p.m.

previous | next