2004-04-14

The zany adventures of yesterday

Yesterday was rad. My major plans for the day were to read some plays and fill out reports on them for Allison, and to go to the library with Mom when she got home. I took a shower to help me get ready to work, and as I was in the shower, missed a call from Kim. She left me a voicemail about going fishing on Friday (!!), and when I called her back, she invited James and me to go to dinner with her and Dusty that evening. I called James to see if he wanted to go, and he did. He was already out paying bills, so when he was done, he just came over. We hung out a little, and then I went to go do the play reports while he played video games. James, however, was very demanding with my attention yesterday (which surprised me, to be honest), and I only ended up reading one play. I gave up, got ready to go out, and did James's hair and made him let me put a little eyeliner on him. He's Asian, has pretty intense dark eyes, and so it all works without being obvious. He's so much fun.

We went to the library and I got some books that looked promising while James dozed in a chair. The theme of yesterday's book picks were things I've read that are somewhat FLB related; we'll see how that turns out. After the library we ran around trying to waste time before dinner. Kill Bill Volume 1 came out on DVD yesterday, so James bought that.

Dinner was full of laughs and a lot of fun. James and I met Kimm and Dusty for dinner at El Patio, and it turned out to be even more fun than either of us had expected. It was really enjoyable. Usually Dusty's kind of weird, but he seemed more relaxed last night, and was a lot of fun. The four of us sat there for hours, talking and laughing until they finally started turning the lights off on us. Kim and Dusty have also decided to fuck being 'scene', which I found refreshing. We also talked a lot about moving into our respective apartments, getting engaged, and the like. Kim and I decided that we both needed to have bucket hats for fishing on Friday, so after dinner James and I headed to Walmart to get mine (since Kim already got hers). That was an adventure in itself . . .

It was freezing cold last night, so as I was getting out of the car, I put my jacket on. I'd done the driving, and I placed the keys on top of my purse, in the seat, while I stood right outside of the car, putting my jacket on. It was also really windy last night, and the wind totally shut the door shut--with the keys in the car, and the doors locked. James was piiissed, but I'm very proud to say he did not lose his temper. If you know James, you know exactly how much of a surprise and improvement that is. I'm totally thinking about buying him a small trophy now, hehe. Anyway, I went inside and bought wire hangers so we could try and get the door open somehow, since the door was not completely closed, but almost, while James stayed outside and called Geico so they could send a locksmith. James straightened the hanger out and while he was put on hold a dozen times, managed to finally hit the button that pops open the trunk just as Geico was about to send a locksmith. Muhaha. That's right, I saw James's ability to break into cars first-hand last night. I also found out he used to be in a punk gang...ahem. He was such a bad child. I hope that does not rub off onto our children!

After we James broke into the car and got the keys, etc., we went into Walmart, where it was nice and warm. (It not only was freezing and windy, but rained off and on as well) I'd had to pee since we left the restaurant, so as soon as we went inside, I headed for the restrooms. I walked in, and there was this heavy-set woman with her drawers around her knees waddling from one stall to another. When she saw me, it was like deer in headlights. Very funny. She sputtered that she didn't realize there wasn't any toilet paper in the stall she was in, and that the one she'd just taken paper from was almost out as well. She was so embarassed, and was like, "I just knew that as soon as I did that, someone would walk in!" Well, she was right. And it was hilarious.

I got the cutest bucket hat ever (white with pink and green stripes around the brim, plus it's reversible and the other side is baby blue with navy blue sailboats on it) and some batteries, and we headed back home. After being outside in the cold and wet, James wasn't feeling so well, so he was planning to drop me off, and then go home and go to bed. However, he surprised me by changing his mind, and staying to watch Kill Bill Volume 1 (which he'd bought before dinner). So we sat down to watch it...and he totally passed out in my lap. That man slept like a baby, and he looked so sweet, too. He even held my hand like a little kid. It was the cutest thing ever. I wish I'd been able to take a picture, but moving to get the camera would have woken him up. It really was sweet, though. In all, it was a totally awesome day.

I can't wait for Friday. Fishing AND Kill Bill Volume 2!!

aigre-douce at 3:00 p.m.

previous | next