2004-05-08

This summer is going to be so much better than last year.

Yesterday was great. I hadn't seen James since spending Monday and Tuesday with him last week, so I was pretty excited to see him yesterday.

Thursday night he admitted to me that he was going to surprise me, and then decided to tell me ahead of time (so I didn't accidentally grab that arm in hugging him) that he got two new tattoos. At first I was like, "Why did you not even mention this to me?", but I didn't say that, and instead, was just happy for him that he could get more tattoos. On my birthday last year, we went to Dothan to see his tattoo artist, Jeff. Jeff runs a super-clean place, is really nice, and pretty talented. And, best of all, he doesn't look gross. Anyway, they were talking about the sleeve they'd been planning out for James's right arm, and he was really excited. Then about a month later, he finds out that his skin is reacting badly to pretty much everything, so more tattoos would be out of the question. Thursday he got some tests done, and found out he can get tattoos again, after all. He'd gone over to Jeff's to see how he was doing, and they decided to just do the tattoos then. So, now James has two pirates on his arm. I really like the pirate on his inner arm, because it looks so classic. The other one has crazy green eyes, coarse, curly hair that's going everywhere, and under it is a threat: Dead Men Tell No Tales. And it actually doesn't look as tacky as it sounds :) I'm excited to see the whole sleeve finished, it should be pretty kickass.

James came over a little before noon, and we had some incredible, intense, much-needed sex. It's been said that sex has a healing power, and it's true. All my fears I've had about our relationship over the last week or so were dissolved as our bodies moved against each other. Afterwards, I watched James shower with one arm (freshly-tattooed arms are very difficult to work with) and shave with my razor. It gave me a nice, warm and secure feeling.

Mom had called and asked if we'd bring some stuff to her work that she'd forgotten. I wasn't planning on it, and told her so, but James thought we should, so it was a nice surprise for her. I say that because I didn't just drop the things off, I took them to her. She was at the playground when I came, and apparently the teacher that went and got her had told her she had a phone call in the office, so she was even more surprised. We talked, and I saw pictures of myself I didn't even know existed all over her desk. At an Avon meeting, we were told to decide why 'we' do Avon (I don't do Avon, I do Mark., so I like to be a smartass about it at times), like our goal, etc., and get a picture representing that goal and place it somewhere we'd see it often, so it would encourage us. I joked that I'd take a picture of myself outside of my house, and overheard Mom say that "Lauren pretty much represents all my goals," lovingly. She was very happy to see me.

As I was walking out of the school, I looked at James in the car, and smiled. I hadn't realized how happy seeing him had made me. When I got in the car, he told me that he'd seen me walking out, and was like, 'Damn, that girl is hot as fuck! Hey, wait..... that's my girlfriend!' I laughed, because I've done that before. I'll see a guy somewhere (in the mall, for instance), and think that guy's really hot, and then he'll turn around, and it'll be my boyfriend. It's a good feeling on both accounts.

We ran an errand, and the air outside reminded me of clove cigarettes. I suggested we get some, but we both agreed it was far too hot outside to smoke. We had a romantic lunch at Top Thai (which just keeps getting better), and went to check out the new coffee place. Ah, how happy coffee places other than Dakota make me now. Angels Coffee Company is the new one, and yesterday was their pre-opening, so all the coffee was free. They wouldn't even take tips, and were all really nice. The place is pretty, too, with golden mirrors on the wall. They have a bakery case as well, which made me happy to see.

We decided we were going to see a movie that evening, and ran around town, wasting time before the movie. We went to Toys R Us so James could find a lightsaber for the next time he, Josh, and Robley get together. I'm almost afraid. I, on the other hand, searched high and low for a Tamagotchi, which I desperately want. I didn't find one, but I did find tons of Rainbow Brite, Strawberry Shortcake, and Hello Kitty toys. Also, an incorrect Miss Clavel from the Madeline stories. For the record, Miss Clavel is in her thirties, French, not American (that's what the doll looks like), and IS A NUN, therefore she wears her habit all the time. I was surprised and amused to see The ActionSampler camera that Misty gifted me with sold there as well. James said that I could get a video game, too, and of course Toys R Us picked yesterday to have no good games in stock. Dammit. Neither of us got anything.

At the mall James wanted to go the Gap (as always; to be so punk/whatever, he sure buys almost all of his clothes from there), and told me to pick out some stuff, keeping it under $50. I was inspired by the bright clothes on the wall, and tried on a bunch only to remember why I wear mostly neutrals; that's what looks best on me. My skin is far too pale to wear bright clothing. It makes me look sick. I tried on a dozen tops, and Gap made the mistake of playing The Postal Service while I was doing so; I had to break for some dance time. Even though things rarely fit me righ in there, Gap always makes me so happy. Perhaps it's the wood flooring and the fact they don't watch their dressing rooms closely - and I'm not in reference to shop-lifting. The music is nice, too. I got two halter tops, one tank top, and James bought a women's black and white tee he's going to cut the sleeves off, so he and the pirate on his arm can match. Again, something that is actually much cuter than one would think.

My next project is posting pictures by the way, since I haven't done that in about a year or so. It just gives the reader a better idea of everything.

We went and bought tickets for the next Van Helsing showing (9:45), and ate at Wendy's. At dinner, James surprised me by revealing plans of us going to Atlanta in about a week or so (the sooner, the better, I say) to look for apartments. There's a cotton mill that has been renovated into nice studio apartments James is interested in, and I'm pretty excited to see. James says the ceilings are really high in them, something that I love. I can barely contain my excitement when I start thinking about moving to Atlanta. Granted, I will not be close to Durand, but I can always go and visit him, and I'll be in a much better spot, period. Friends I have from different areas can come visit me, I'll be closer to them, etc. And let's not forget my new favorite store, Anthropologie. Or the fact that you can get a job in Atlanta with a nose ring, something I've been dying to do. I want to get a small stud, a la Mya, not a nose ring.

After dinner, we still had time to kill, so we ran over to BooksAMillion. In the bathroom, I rescued a girl from having no toilet paper, attempted to touch up my foundation (which screws up when it gets hot outside, like yesterday), and answered a call from Soren while doing so. He called my cell phone....but wanted to talk with my dad. The connection was lost, so I didn't even have to respond to that. As I was trying to find James, I ran into Straight Edge Allison (also known as SXE Allison, for short), David, and their friend, Amber. Amber was extremely sweet, and I'll have to see if we three girls can hang out sometime together. She was pretty kickass. They were in the New Age section, looking for dream meanings; Allison recently had a dream lately that involved a white spider. Allison showed me the infamous 'name book'; it tells things about you based on your name alone, and it eerily accurate. For instance, mine said 'If Lauren has super strict parents, she will get even, and then some.' See? James's was also very accurate. I've decided I want that book for my birthday, so I can have it on my coffee table in our new Atlanta apartment, and dazzle our guests with it. Also, a subscription to Dwell Magazine and/or ReadyMade magazine, for that matter, wouldn't hurt, hehe.

Finally, it was time for Van Helsing. Now, I hadn't thought it was going to be anything super spectacular, but boy, was I wrong. If you like vampires, werewolves, Mr.Jekyll/Dr. Hyde, and the story of Frankenstein, you'll love it. The commentary from the guy that reminded me of Lil John (minus the catch phrases) in front of us and the rednecks behind us was pretty funny, too. The movie itself was really good, and I loved the ending. It was very fitting, and didn't make me roll my eyes once (okay, once, but that was it). It had character instead of being Hollywood perfect, and the music at the end signified a sequel is in the making. I'll be waiting for it.

Speaking of movies, we all know how obsessed I am with both Amelie/Audrey Tautou, and Harry Potter anything. So, imagine my excitement (I literally almost hyperventilated) upon reading this today: Straight from mugglenet.com -Britsh newspaper The Express is reporting that French actress Audrey Tatou (filmography - pictures) is in final negotiations for the role of Madam Maxime in Goblet of Fire. Also in the article - "Madame Maxime is this huge ugly giant whom everyone else finds terrifying. But the gag is that when Hagrid looks at her, all he sees is the beautiful Audrey Tatou." I could've done without them saying Madame Maxine was ugly, because I always thought she'd be beautiful in her own way (not like Audrey Tautou, in my mind's eye, but it'll work), but I am beyond excited about that. I wonder if I can get tickets for that now? Oh wait, they haven't started making the movie yet, nevermind. That's still a pretty kickass bit of news, though.

Today I have nothing to do, free to lounge about and do whatever I please. I've already started working on my plans for my birthday next month. I'll be 20! That never fails to amaze me, no matter how often I think on it. I'm pushing for caviar blintzes for breakfast, hehe. A piercing and possibly a tattoo are in order, as well. Ahh, I'm excited.

Now for Atlanta school searching.....

aigre-douce at 12:50 p.m.

previous | next