2004-05-11

Working on Sleep Deprivation

Last night Allison and I rented two highly anticipated movies: The Triplets of Belleville and About Schmidt. I would never recommend seeing either. The Triplets of Belleville was okay, but it had no dialogue, and I thought the grandson that gets captured by the Mafia was stupid, so I didn't really care whether or not he got saved. We also listned to music for five hours, so she could pick out what all she wanted to burn. While I love music, for some reason I was incredibly annoyed at the end of the process, and not at Allison. I got to bed at 2 something.

This morning at 11, I had my hair appointment so I drove Mom to work and the kids to school so I could have the van for the day. This entailed getting up at 6:45, and once I'm up, I'm up. I did errands around town after I dropped everyone off, then came home and made myself a mixed rap tape for the van, which has a radio and a tape deck. I thought I left early enough to have ample time to pick up a check from Dad at the hospital and be early for my appointment, but thanks to the braindead idiots on Highway 27, a winding road, I was running late. Then I fucked up while parking @ the hospital in my haste, and had to back out fifty times to ensure the spaceship, er, van didn't hit the car beside me. By the time I got there (only a few minutes late), Dee (my hairdresser) thought I wasn't coming, and ran out to get lunch, so I had to wait about 20 minutes for her to get there. Apparently she totally forgot everything we'd discussed, and did her own kind of layers, also forgetting which side I part my hair on. And the way she cut it looks retarded if I don't wear it the exact way she cut it. Fuck. Me. She said she liked the highlights (shock, since she hates the idea of me messing with my color). She styled it horribly, though. I looked like some 80's mall kid, with hair ready for rats to nestle in. It was awful.

James and I met up for lunch, and it was great. He looked like he did last year, when we first started dating, so happy to see me, huge smile. Also, he's lost tons of weight the past week, thanks to his Bumex, so he really looked like he did last year. There was also the feeling of excitement, too. I mean, I'm always excited to see him, but this was different. I don't think the fact that he was listening to The Postal Service hurt at all, either.

I went home,and immediately jumped into the shower to make my hair smaller and wash off bits of hair. I cried when I started to dry my hair, because of how she cut it (totally did not listen to what we'd talked about), but I managed to salvage it. It looks nice, it's just much more maintenance than I wanted. I wanted something that I could blow dry straight without spending an hour on it, and something I could put up without pieces falling out all over the place. Yeah...no. I have side bangs again, too, dammit. Oh well. It looks good. I just don't want to expend that much energy on hair. On the bright side, I look hot as fuck.

Due to me having to do so much to my hair to make it look okay, losing my eyeliner, and the wonderful security clearance I had to go through (Mom works on a military post), I was late picking up Mom. I still can't find my eyeliner, even after much searching (I have to have my eyeliner; it's a trademark thing). I tried taking a nap, and was woken up no less than 25 times by my loving, loud siblings who have a thing with slamming doors and making noise just because. Yeah...

And so. That was my day. And yes, dear Jon, I totally agree with you. I'm thinking ankle.

aigre-douce at 7:50 p.m.

previous | next