2004-07-28

Week 2 in Atlanta

I got a card in the mail today. Here's what it says:

------------------

Dear Applicant,

Re: Application for Employment

We are in receipt of your application for employment with Urban Outfitters, Inc.

While your skills and experience are impressive, we have chosen an applicant who more closely meets the needs of the business. However we would like to keep your application on file and should other suitable positions arise in the future, we will contact you.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your interest in Urban Outfitters, Inc., and pass on our best wishes for a successful job search.

-------------------

That makes me sad. Also, The Cure is playing in Atlanta tomorrow, and money is low, so James and I don't get to go. However, this girl Josh has a crush on bought him a ticket, so he gets to go. :( It makes me sad that James and I are the responsible ones, and Josh is an irresponsible low-life bum (friend of mine that he is, it's the honest truth), but it's paying off for him. Hmph.

Last night Mary Ann and I drank a bunch (I didn't get sick, though!!) and had girlfriend bonding time. It feels so good to have a local girlfriend. It's been a year since I've had anything like that. I mean, I have great girlfriends (Desiree, Kim, Allison), but it's not quite the same. I consider Desiree one of my best friends in the world, and she's first in line (after relatives) for my maids of honor spots (should it ever occur that someone wants to marry me, I mean) but it's not quite the same now that we live hours away from each other. It kind of makes hottubbing together difficult. Kim and I are still close, but she's so busy with school, Dusty, and work that we're lucky if we get uninterrupted phone calls, let alone hang out time. And Allison is simply kickass and I love her, but there are some things she can't relate to when we talk. For the past year, whenever I've had any sort of relationship problems, I've mainly had to figure it all out on my own. It's nice to be able to chat with someone who's going through the same things. And it doesn't hurt that we live 30 seconds from each other, either. Or that she's a hairstylist and I want to be a makeup artist. OR that our respective boyfriends (that's right, though we're "just dating," James still refers to me as his girlfriend) are best friends and have boy talks about us, either. It's super cute, actually. I love it. We sang Disney theme songs at the top of our lungs and giggled like little girls last night. I'm proud to say that I've only lived here for two weeks, and already I've had a security guard come up to say someone complained about the music, could I please turn it down. It was funny. And best of all, I didn't get sick! However, I am keeping away from the elevator. It makes me dizzy.

The other day I went job hunting in Little Five Points. I'd heard that TeaSpace (this cute tiny teahouse) was hiring, and originally went there for that reason. I decided to see who else there was hiring, and was getting pretty discouraged (as was James; he went with me and was amazed at how hard it really is to find a job here) when I saw this really nice boutique (Bill Hallman Flaunt) that had a Hiring: Inquire Within sign on it. I went in, got an application, and went to a pizzeria and filled it out. When I went back to return the application, a woman that was working there looked it over, gave me a mini interview, seemed please, and said that they had some other people to interview, but would make their decision by Thursday. So hopefully I will hear from them tomorrow. It made me happy, because everywhere I've looked for a job, I've found I don't look punk rock enough to work there (fuck me for getting sophisticated within the last year, dammit), but the girls at Flaunt dressed just like I do, except maybe a tad dressier than I do on a daily basis. But they're cute/trendy enough that I can probably still be Mary Ann's "creative hair" model for her interview at Studio Red. I will be so happy if I get that job. Can I just tell you that.

Something I've forgotten to mention . . . Last week I called up Tim Nassar, and he was super happy to hear from me, and wants us to start hanging out. Ahem. Suzie and I know Tim and Paul (brothers- handsome/good looking, rich, and older) from our summers at Longboat Key, Floria. Paul is in love with Suzie, while I've always had a thing for Tim. However, upon seeing Tim last week, I realized I am over my crush on him (awesome timing...meh). I mean, I'll still hang out with him, but there will be no girlie-hopeful giddy feelings about it. Oh well. Such is growing up.

I have family in this area, and I've given them all a call within the last week to let them know I moved here, etc. When I called my cousin, Lloyd, I only got his answering service, so I left a message. That was a few days ago. Right before I made this post, I received a call from him. He seemed pretty excited to hear from me, which makes me happy because since we're a few years apart and have never really had the chance to get to know each other, I didn't know how he would react to me calling. Now we have plans to go to dinner on Saturday night. Things like that make me happy.

The other night Mary Ann dyed Bethy's hair, and used tissues to wipe off excess dye. One of the tisses with hair dye landed on the floor I guess, and I somehow scooped my toe into it. I now have a partially black left 'index' toenail. Neither rubbing alcohol nor nail polish remover took it off, so now I'm going to have to paint over it. What fun.

I hope this update was sufficient. I am sure I will add more later.

Love, Lauren

aigre-douce at 6:59 p.m.

previous | next