2004-08-09

-

It's been forrrrevvverrr since I've had the chance to update. And so.

Job news: Right now my cousin's friend is trying to get me a job at Bloomingdales as a makeup artist (preferably at M-A-C). I REALLY hope I get that, because that's obviously one of my dream jobs. If they don't call me back in a few days, Lloyd (my cousin) is calling Jason (the guy who works @ Bloomingdales), and we're going to set a day for me to come in, dressed professionally all in black (it's their "dress code"), and Jason is going to introduce me to the manager, etc., etc., etc.

Since there is a ten year age difference between me and Lloyd Driver (my cousin) and we've never lived near each other, I've never really had the chance to really hang out with him. Can I just tell you---he is totally kickass. Beyond kickass, actually. The man is wonderful. He calls me everyday to check up on me and touch base, just to see how I'm doing. He's found me furniture from different places, too. Saturday he brought over this 8'x10' super nice woolen rug his friend was going to give to charity (she's rich), and then we went and got a boxspring and mattress from his sister, Lynn. Lynn was really excited to see me, and she's about to move to Texas. She gave me a bunch of dishes, a vase, and some really cute artwork. It's just black and white photos of flowers and stuff up close, but it's set in these brushed steel picture frames, so they're perfect for the apartment. The rug is super nice, but isn't really the style I was going for, but it was free, and really nice. It's so luxurious to have some sort of carpeting again. I feel like The Little Princess when she's living in the attic, and is given stuff to spruce her room up. A few hours afer we got those things, Lloyd called me to see if I wanted him to bring a table with two chairs over. I get to borrow them. . . for about a year or so. He's freaking amazing! I was so worried that when I came into town and got in touch with him that he wouldn't really be interested in hanging out or anything, but instead, he totally surprised me by being one of the nicest, coolest people I've ever met (especially in my family). I love him; he's the greatest. Tomorrow evening Lloyd, my cousin Christy who's in town, and I are all supposed to go to the Chihuly in the Gardens, or something close to that. It's blown glass that mimics plant life, and is supposed to be really great. I'm super excited.

Wednesday is Mary Ann's interview with Salon Red. This is a big day for me, because I promised her weeks ago that I'd be her 'creative model'. This means that my hair will go from suburban (shoulder length naturally red hair with a few long layers and highlights) to city (crazy rockstar cut - I'll post pictures- with darker red lowlights, my red, then blonde, pink, and baby pink streaks. I'm incredibly fucking excited, as is everyone else here, because I'll finally look like 'one of the gang/crowd/etc.', plus it's going to be SUCH a drastic change.

Speaking of the crowd I hang out with . . . Pictures!!! The first pictures is Jason on Robley's back. Jason is the one who does all the DJing, and Robley is Mary Ann's boyfriend (as well as a Jew, which makes him one of my favorite people in the world). The second picture is Rami (in vampire get up), me, Josh, Sara from L.A. (in ninja gear), Allison (vampire) and my wonderful Mary Ann (pirate), all dressed up for Pirates v. Ninjas night at MJQ. The third picture is Allison again and Ginna (who's dressed as a pixie. . . when I first met her, I thought, "Oh my god, it's Weetzie Bat!" I wasn't too far off). And then the last picture is Allison and Rami again. Right now I don't have a PhotoBucket account, nor the time to set one up, so I apologize for having to hotlink. I'll get one soon, though. By the way, I was dressed up as a pirate, and had braids and stuff in my hair, and was all dressed up as described in the previous entry. However, I was not really prepared for that picture, and was in the back, so you can't really tell. Hmph.

Thursday James and I are taking a trip home. My family misses me a lot (and I'm actually looking forward to seeing them, too), plus I need to get the rest of my belongings. Also, my parents decided I could have the Krups coffee/cappuccino maker, too. On one side, it's a coffee maker, on the other a cappuccino maker!! The only catch is that I have to buy a new cappuccino carafe for it, but that's fine. I'm so proud/impressed that my parents are actually going to give it to me. I mean, they already have 3 other cappuccino makers; one for the house, one for Dad's work, and one for Mom's work. That's how obsessed they are. They almost didn't want to give me the one they're giving me, because, "What if one breaks and [they] need a replacement?" That's how addicted they really are. It's sad. I've suggested a 12-step program to help kick the habit, but they're in denial.

So that's pretty much it for now. Today I found that the local (kickass) record store (the same one I bought The Virgin Suicides by Air soundtrack at) also carries The 5.6.7.8s. I got sooooo excited. The only problem was that they had one EP, and it was 10$ for 6 songs, so I'm going to wait until they get one (or both) of the full albums. How awesome is that, though? Atlanta is so kickass. It doesn't hurt that I have such rad friends, either. For instance, tonight Josh and Jason are DJing at Lenny's Bar. . . and I can get in b/c I'm on the guest list. Yesssss.

Edit: Tonight at Lenny's, I had to pee. When I came back from the bathroom, Josh was like, "Uh, Lauren . . . pull your skirt down in the back. It's all tucked into your panties." That's right, I showed my ass to everyone in the bar. Thankfully, it was near closing time, and there were maybe ten of us total still there. The black guy that was cleaning up kept giving me appreciative looks and told me, "It's cool," when I blushed and laughed nervously/in an embarassed fashion. It was an awesome night, though. I <3 James.

aigre-douce at 7:56 p.m.

previous | next