2004-08-13

Proof I really am losing my mind

Apparently today I can't write. I'm not sure if this is because the noise coming from Predator is so overwhelming, or what. I can't find a way to organize everything I want to say at the moment, so here are this week's highlights: 1. I got my hair cut. It's very short, and as about 20+ people have told me, it's "very sexy and fitting." As you'll recall, I was Mary Ann's creative model for her interview. We're going to color it as well, and after we do so, I'll post pictures. I've received no less than 100 compliments (possibly more) on it since Wednesday. Everyone I saw at MJQ last night could not get over it, and had to stop me to have a conversation about it. I'm very proud. 2. I had my first interview this week. I found a listing for someone needing makeup artists in the Employment section of the paper, and called. The woman who answered asked if I was a makeup artist (I've done proms and weddings, but not professionally), and offered me an interview the following morning at 11. I got all dressed up, did my makeup awesomely, and was early enough that I even had time to go to a nearby Starbucks and get some coffee before showing up. My interview was at a house in a semi-commercial area of a neighboring town. Upon arrival, I was told to fill out a paper, and to sit at one of the three tables in the area that would traditionally be a living room. I sat and waited, and other women started coming in. I thought, "Okay, it's a group interview." Turned out to be not an interview, but more like a sales pitch. Before I will even be considered for the job, I have to pay $1200 for workshops I have to pay. Thanks, but I need money to pay the rent, not to give someone else money. 3. I've been having panic attacks lately. I don't know what (besides stress and sometimes lack of sleep) is causing them, but I really don't enjoy them. I can't breathe, my heart beats so hard I'm afraid it's going to come out of my chest . . . and it's not a falling-in-love feeling, either. I hate it.

So, I guess now I will try to get a job at one of the MACs or perhaps Sephora. This is depressing.

aigre-douce at 10:04 p.m.

previous | next