2004-10-01

Diamonds are a Girl's Best Friend

When someone tries to put restrictions on what I can write in my diary on my personal time, that's when it's time to lock it up. The time has come to keep accidental readers out, I'm afraid. It makes me sad, but I suppose it has to happen some time.

Today is my and James' sixteenth month anniversary. It's safe to say we're both pretty happy with each other. Yesterday at breakfast James asked if I wanted to go ahead and get married now, and have the wedding later. I told him when I got married I would have the wedding then, otherwise I was afraid it would never happen. Just for fun, we each made lists of all the people we'd each invite to our wedding. It's amazing to see just how four shitty people really did affect our relationship, and it's interesting to see the difference once the same four people have been cut off.

I've been off every day this week besides Tuesday and today. Sunday was my sixth day in a row working, so Monday was my off day. We finally got paid by Tim and Bryan for setting up for the wedding show, and went to cash the check Monday. On the way to the bank, something made me ask James if he'd remembered to bring his wallet. He reached for it and started freaking out, and I tried to calm him down, telling him all we had to do was to turn around and go get it. However, apparently James had his wallet with him earlier, but it had fallen out of his pocket - the pocket has a hole at the bottom. We looked for it in the pouring rain for about an hour or so before giving up, and posted Lost Wallet fliers all over the building. James was convinced his wallet was gone for good, and was as stressed as one person can possibly be over a lost wallet. I worked the following day, and when I came home between 'shifts' and it was still nowhere to be found, I gave up and ordered him another wallet just like his lost one. I left to babysit, and of course, as soon as I got there, James called me to tell me a lady in our building found and returned it. Go figure. Oh well, it's nice to know not everyone in Atlanta is a total shithead. If Robley or anyone of that crew had found it, they would've taken all the cash, maxxed out the credit cards, and thrown everything else away. Hence the reason I no longer speak to any of them.

The next day I was off, and James and I went shopping. I've been hunting for a deal on the Harry Potter books for ages, and was therefore quite happy to find all five books in paperback for $23 at Sam's Club. I had to drop by the mall to get some Victoria's Secret Love Spell spray, since I've been out of it forever, and it turned out that there was this amazing sale - any 5 of the Victoria's Garden line items for only $30! Of course, I had to capitalize on that. Afterwards, I felt a bit embarassed, because that's the first time I've ever been suckered into a sale. I really needed a large eyepencil sharpener, and went to Sephora for the first time. Upon entering, I turned into a five year old girl that's at Disney World for the first time and seeing all the 'castles'. I thought I was in Heaven. James bought the sharpener for me, and I walked out of there feeling like I'd finally grown up - I had not only a large Victoria's Secret bag in one hand, but a tiny Sephora one in the other! Yesterday I was off again. James has never read the Harry Potter books, and thought it would be romantic if we read them out loud, so we read the first few chapters of the first book. Then James decided he had to see the movies right away, so we headed to Best Buy to see if they had any deals . . . and they did! I bought the first two movies in a package together, for $22! I was pretty damned proud. James surprised me by deciding we needed to check out the Perimeter mall, and we ate at La Madeline's. I currently have a pumpkin obsession, and at Godiva, I bought spiced pumpkin truffles, which tasted like chocolate covered pumpkin pie. I also bought a small thing of creme brulee truffles and pumpkin cheesecake truffles. They were all very delicious. The other day when my cousin Christy and I went shopping, we went to L'Occitane and Christy showed me her favorite items. Since we were in the same mall, I decided to see what James thought of the Honey scent (Christy's husband hates it). James loved it, and I ended up buying honey incense and left with a bagful of Honey samples, courtesy of the amazing customer service there. When we finally got home, we watched most of the first Harry Potter movie, but I begged to turn it off because I was so sleepy. Tonight we're finishing it. Also, tonight I went to a great Harry Potter site and got Harry Potter recipes. In a few minutes, I'm going to make Butterbeer, then we're finishing the movies. I love my life.

aigre-douce at 10:29 p.m.

previous | next