2004-10-18

Harry Potter, Airplane Crash Nearby, and Pumpkin Pie

I think I will definitely be updating more often now that I have this whole lovely computer to myself. Whether or not it will actually be interesting enough to read may be another issue. I spent today searching for the perfect wallpaper for my computer. I now have the cover of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire as my wallpaper, yes! Last night I spent the evening shopping online and making wish lists for things for the apartment.

I wasn't called back about my schedule last night, so I had the day off again today. I love the leisure time, but it worries me about my paycheck. Anyway, today James and I watched Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels (good movie). Our upstairs neighbors have been doing some sort of construction in their apartment, and it's been raining all day, so when we heard a large crash and could see nothing from our window, we decided that the people upstairs had made a giant noise coinciding with thunder. We were wrong. Thirty minutes after we finished the movie, a friend from work called to see if I was okay. She was on her way back from New York and had heard that a plane had crashed in our neighborhood. Not having television service, I went online to check the news. Small Plane Crashes In Atlanta, Killing Two. What's more is that it happened right down the street from the building in which Javaology is located, same side of the street and everything. It makes me glad I was off work today after all, though I did miss being interviewed by all the local news stations as a result. Oh well.

Speaking of work . . . I get to work tomorrow! I'm quite happy about that. Income and whatnot, I mean. Tonight the building's fire alarm went off, and everyone had to evacuate and go outside. Once again, I had taken a shower right before this happened, so I was dressed for bed and had no makeup on. I stayed upstairs inside to slap some makeup on and look presentable (there's way too many people in our apartment building to try to play it off), and before I was finished, the alarm was turned off. When James came back upstairs, he told me that a young woman had asked him if his girlfriend (me) worked at Javaology. He said yes, and she was like, "I really like her! She's so sweet and nice! I REALLY like her! And she makes really good coffee!" It's always nice to hear things like that.

Now I will devote my obsession with autumn to making a pumpkin pie. Yum!

aigre-douce at 8:43 p.m.

previous | next