2005-01-28

Snow Day

My French teacher from highschool is leaving her husband (who was one of her teachers when she was in highschool) with whom she has two little boys for a student two years younger than me. Apparently she and the student are getting married this summer, when her divorce is finalized. The student is a senior in highschool. And to think I used to idolize her and thought of her as my mentor . . .

This makes me sad.


In more recent news, I woke up this morning before 8:00, even though it is my day off. I was laying in bed, thinking of all the things I had planned for today, when Willis called me. He asked me if I could look out of a window and tell him how the roads looked. I was a little confused, but understood immediately when I looked outside; everything was covered in a layer of snow and ice. I had heard that there was supposed to be an ice storm this weekend, but since weather warnings rarely fall through, I didn't pay much attention. However, sure enough, it snowed last night and is still snowing now. Willis had called because his driveway is on a slope and it was so iced over he couldn't go anywhere. While I think it's cool (no pun intended) that it actually snowed, I'm a little peeved because I had so many plans today, and I only get Saturdays off, so I have to go right back to work tomorrow, no matter what.

Yesterday a customer who likes me came in, and while I was serving him, he brought up the subject of most apartment places no longer accepting dogs. He showed me a postcard advertisement of a nearby apartment complex that said 'Cats Welcome', meaning dogs were not, and I said, "Well, I guess I won't be looking for an apartment there. Damn." He was like, "Oh, you're looking for an apartment?" I said yes, and he told me about an apartment he's leasing out; one bedroom, a living room, washer/dryer connections, tiling, carpeting, water and cable would be paid for, and best of all, it's in a great area (Buckhead, for those of you who are familiar with the Atlanta area), is on ground level (no more stairs or elevators!), and my favorite part of all - - - not only would Liger be welcome, but there's a large backyard for him to play in! Oh, did you ask how much it is? Only $700 a month; right now we're paying $701 for a studio apartment where pets aren't welcome, there aren't any washer/dryer connections, we can't afford cable, we have black painted concrete floors, thin walls, and we don't even have a bedroom. I'm super excited about the Buckhead apartment, and was supposed to go see it today. Thank you, snow, for ruining that, because it's definitely not safe to drive. Awesome.

On another note, my cousin Kenny (Suzie's brother; I stayed with them this time last year in New Orleans) is in town. I haven't seen him yet, since he's staying with some friends, but I'm supposed to hang out with him and Paul and Tim this evening. I'm really excited about this; the Longboat Key crew (minus Suzie and Marty, that is) hanging out in Atlanta!

Last night I was leafing through this month's Jane magazine, and I was glancing over their album reviews when this caught my eye: "Joi - 'Tennessee Slim Is the Bomb' Recorded in the midst of her divorce from Goody Mob's Big Gipp, the tone of Joi's funk/soul/R&B/crunk CD reminds me of my little sister - moody. One moment she's too fly for her 15 minutes, the next she's wondering whether she can make it without knowing that you love her. Yet her signature voice remains hot as hell. Definitely best when listened to under the influence of something really strong. -Mitzi Ranked 3 out of 4." My jaw dropped. Last week a woman (who looks just like the woman on the CD) came in one morning looking really rough, so I was surprised when Willis said, "Aren't you Joi, married to Big Gipp from Goody Mob?" She shook her head, smiled weakly, and told him that they had recently divorced. Willis was surprised and a little embarassed that he had brought the subject up, but she told him not to worry, that a lot of people still don't realize that they've divorced since it has been less than a year. She paid with a credit/debit card, and indeed, her name was Joi. Upon reading that review, I called Willis and told him about it. He said he was surprised she hadn't mentioned that her album had dropped, because she's always talking about the music she used to do . . . for instance, she has been on Outkast albums. I love my life sometimes . . . meeting Atlanta artists is why I wanted to move here in the first place, and I'm accomplishing just that. Yesterday I gave Anthony David (no links, just go look it up), or Tony, as I know him as, a ride home, and have been flirted with Cedric Smith quite a bit. Hehe.

This morning James put my bookcase together for me, and I've been euphoric ever since. It's a relief to finally be able to have somewhere besides boxes to store my books. Now I just have to make sure I display them all in an awesome manner. And get more books to fill my shelves.

Now I am going to take a shower, so I'll be ready to hangout tonight with the guys. Also, I need to trek through the snow to the store to pick up some essentials, to include Rose's Sour Apple Infusion to make appletinis with. I'm out.

aigre-douce at 12:56 p.m.

previous | next