2004-09-17

-

James has been sleeping for the last two hours. During that time, I've played Fable, and then turned that off and got on the computer. A few minutes ago, he woke up, realized I wasn't beside him, sat up, and said, "Where are you?" I walked out from behind the slight partition created by the computer and surrounding area, jumped, and said, "Surprise!," as a joke. He laid back down. I went over to him, hugged him, and said, "Where else did you think I would/could be in this apartment?" He shrugged sleepily and said, "I don't know. I just didn't want to lose you."

I haven't updated lately because of my hectic schedule (worked Tuesday from 6am-1pm, then left for Alabama a few hours later) and the lack of electricity.

In a nutshell, I went to the coffeeshop Monday night to see I could work Tuesday morning, and during the course of the conversation, Morgan made up for Sunday. We didn't even bring anything about Sunday up. I just asked Willis about working, and Morgan was sitting there. They discussed among themselves what time I should come in, and Morgan turns to me and says, "Lauren, when you're a big-time coffee (something) and you open your own coffeeshop, if there's one thing to do, it's to always make sure you have a schedule. This will help prevent a lot of problems." He said it in an apologetic tone, and I won't flatter myself by thinking he actually reads this, but if he does, then that was definitely an apology. And if he doesn't, then it was more of a wordless apology/truce. Either way, I appreciated it. To make it even better, when he said that part about when I become a big-time coffee person/whatever, Willis interrupted Morgan by saying, "Actually, I'd say she already IS a big-time coffee (whatever term was used, I cannot remember)." It made me feel good. I came into work (a little late) Tuesday, and everything went awesomely. Morgan and I got along perfectly again.

I made a short update while in Alabama about how things were going here (second to the last entry). The night after I made it, I realized I would either have to go home early (Wednesday night) and maybe beat Hurricane Ivan, or leave later than expected (as it turned out, today - Friday) and wait it out. I called Morgan with this information (since he'd told me to call him and let him know when I'd be getting in, etc.), and he told me to stay in Alabama and wait it out. Then he called me the next morning to see if I was in Atlanta (?!), and when he found I was not, teased me about looting my apartment and selling the goods. He told me it would not be a good idea for me to drive back to Atlanta that night (Thursday), either. So I was a little concerned when I received a voicemail message from him this morning, in which he asked if I was in town, and if so, could I come into work. Now, let's see . . . if he told me it would be bad to drive in that sort of weather, of course I'm not going to. Now, keeping that in mind, why would he then think I might be in town the next morning?! I'm confused. I think my bosses just like me that much and like to have me around as much as possible. When I finally got home this afternoon, I called to let them know I was here, and they called me an hour later and asked if I was coming into work that evening, then gave me the option to come in tonight or tomorrow morning at 7:30. After rushing and being without power for the last few days, then driving four hours back to Atlanta, I opted for the morning shift. A few hours later, Willis called me to tell me I had a paycheck up there waiting for me. It's so nice to be liked.

If you checked out the above link to my livejournal, there's not really much else for me to say right now. I'm tired, and need to go to bed so I can get to work on time. Bon soir.

Hurricane side note: I stayed with my parents on Tuesday night and most of Wednesday, then went to stay with James' parents on Wednesday night, with the plan of leaving the following morning. That night the hurricane hit really hard, and though neither of our families' houses had any damage, the power was out in both for two days. Thankfully, the power's fine at our apartment. The hurricane hit here last night.

aigre-douce at 11:26 p.m.

previous | next