2003-09-14

aqueous transmission

Good lawd, it's 3 something in the a.m., and I'm not near sleepy. Weird.

I finished The Memory Book of Starr Faithfull by Gloria Vanderbilt . . . it's based on a true story and parts of it can be highly interesting. Others, however, seem like the ramblings of a lunatic. (Oh, wait)

I have to get up at 6ish in the morning for church. Why can I not sleep?? What's really bad is that Aqueous Transmission by Incubus keeps running through my head. While a great song and definitely fitting, it's linked with some bitter memories of about October of last year, and it's nothing like that now. It may be a Saturday night, he may have his phone turned off and be out of town, but it's not the same. I promise. I have talked to him several times today, and all he does is talk about how miserable he is without me there, how much he misses me, how much he loves me, and how certain he is he wants to marry me. It really isn't the same. I love James.

I do not, however, like my little brother's friend who is spending the night. Ass and a half, that kid. Terrible phone manners. Phone rings...

Me:"Hello?"

Andrew:"Hello."

Me:"Hello?"

Andrew:"Hello."

Me: click.

And he's extremely rude and obese. I am NOT a fan. He reminds me of Harry Potter's cousin. Grar. I walked in the kitchen as he was pouring half of my bottle of syrup into his milk and scared the shit out of him. I was angry, as not only was he told not to mess with it, but he was badmouthing me as I walked in. I was quite curt with him, and he is now terrified of me. Sweet. I hope he leaves as soon as possible tomorrow. I hate that kid. I wish I was a witch so I could cast some terrible spell on him. Bastard.

With the exception of filing and polishing my nails and dyeing my hair, I have performed every beauty ritual imaginable today. It's ridiculous. I've also cleaned house (to include my room, aren't you proud), gave Cam my t.v., hooked the Nintendo up to the one James is letting me use and reprogrammed my vcr, somehow lost weight, burned 12 cds for my friend, Mauretta, and mailed money orders today. It doesn't seem like a lot, but when you're home alone all day, that's all there is to do. Oh, wait. And I smoked a single cigarette, my first in two days. Impressive if I do say so myself.

Andrew is on the couch, snoring like it's going out of style. I hope he rolls over and accidentally suffocates himself. Though, then there'd be the problem of moving him from the couch...

Also, I may be going to Birmingham this Friday to see not only the new Audrey Tatou movie (Pretty Dirty Things or something), but the new Woody Allen one as well. I hope James comes, too, despite the drive. I don't know if I can sit through another Woody Allen flick without him, but it's the price I pay to see Audrey Tatou (think Amelie). Siggghhh.

Off for another attempt at that sleeping thing.

Aqueous Transmission

I'm floating down a river

Oars freed from their holes long ago

Lying face up on the floor of my vessel

I marvel at the stars

And feel my heart overflow

Further down the river

Further down the river

Further down the river

Further down the river

Two weeks without my lover

I'm in this boat alone

Floating down a river named emotion

Will I make it back to shore

Or drift into the unknown

Further down the river

Further down the river

Further down the river

Further down the river

I'm building an antenna

Transmissions will be sent when I am through

Maybe we'll meet again further down the river

And share what we both discovered...

Then revel in the view

Further down the river

Further down the river

Further down the river

Further down the river

aigre-douce at 3:26 a.m.

previous | next