2003-11-12

chocolate shortcake w/shana

I suppose I will update, since people have commented on me not doing so....

There's really not much to say about recent events. I saw James Monday night, which was nice. Things are infinitely better in that department. He just called me (and missed me, apparently!!) and was super sweet. I feel tons better. Misty wrote about this calming atomizer she bought for her cat . . . perhaps I should get one as to become less neurotic. I'm really jumpy right now, which I blame on smoking a bunch tonight (b/c I haven't smoked much at all lately, so now it ups my heartbeats) with Shana tonight. I've been occupying myself with setting up play dates for next week (James is leaving on Saturday for Cali, and will be gone for a week or so), reading, playing Banjo-Tooie and Soul Caliber II, and working on NaNoWriMo, straightening my hair, and working on being skinnier. My dad and I fought Monday, so I didn't really talk to him this evening, when he decided to be really sweet. That man is so odd. Speaking of dads, Shana's is letting me borrow the Vampire Chronicles Vol. 1 by Anne Rice. I was just going to check the books out, but for some reason, the library has all the books but the first one . . . kinda crucial.

I'm supposed to hang out with Jess Friday night to see her perform (she's in a college choir thingy), and there might be a trip to Troy in my near future. I can only hope. I need a break from this (immediate) area. I'm still angry that I can't go to California, and James is stressed out about the whole trip. Come on, that's a whole lot of driving he'll be doing solo. When he gets back we'll look for apartments, and if I still am allowed to borrow (while working on buying) the Focus, I'll get a job in Dothan asap. Which I'm looking forward to. I need to start working again. I intend to get as many jobs as possible without burning out so I can not only stay busy, but make loads of money to save for college (and have extra cash to spruce up the apartment, etc). I'm so excited about moving out and getting a job. Ah, independence leaves a sweet taste on my tongue. Fresh air, is that you?? Plus I get to live with two of the coolest guys in the world (I'm working on talking Taco's dad into giving us the celebrated couches b/c we'll need furniture, of course, haha), one of which is incredibly sexy, sweet, and has a nice ass. Haha. Good makeout, too. Oh, I'm a fan.

As I have all this free time on my hands, I make sure to look incredibly cute whenever I do go out. Tonight's look: Jeans, black studded belt (from Jess), my I <3 NY 3/4 tee (from Desiree ), black flip flops (I refuse to buy into this 'winter' hoax), straightened hair (it's getting pretty long! And by pretty long, I mean long layers down to my throat), near-perfect makeup, and Wizard of Oz ruby red slipper-red toenails. I'm satisfied. For once. Oh, and my small silver hoops, despite the fact I'm a redhead and am 'supposed' to wear gold.

Other news . . . I won't be a mother anytime soon (woot!). I'm sure no one else has ever gone through that fear, but believe me, it's no fun. For those of you that have gone through that, I'm sure you can rejoice with me. Ah, the wonders of the Pill.

I hung out with Shana tonight, which was nice. She swung by church, and we weren't out yet, so she had a small taste of my church. She helped me embellish my stick people drawing of me and James, then we went to Ruby Tuesday to share a chocolate shortcake. While we were there, this girl I knew (but was not a huge fan of, just helped her sometimes with her makeup, which I felt the need to do as she was so damn ugly) comes up to me and is like, "Hey, Laurie!" Definitely not my name, but I let it slide. I greeted her, and she was like, "So, are you working right now?" "No." "Bum! Are you going to the community college?" "No." "Bum!" It really pissed me off, because I'm not a bum by any means (not that I can help, at any rate), and am doing all I know to do, to include selling Avon, for Christ's sake (got my first two orders this week, btw. hurrraaaayyy!). I was like, "Um, no, I don't have a car to get to school or work, thanks. I am, however, selling makeup." Kristin (rude ugly girl whose family bought her a spanking new Mustang and is ever the pessimist) was like, "Oh, like Mary Kay? They screw you over, because sometimes people don't always pay, etc, etc." I calmly replied, "No, it's Avon, a line for college women called Mark. And people have to pay when they order, so there is no possibility of being screwed over. They pay, you order the stuff, and have cash in your hand. Pretty simple but makes money." She was like, "Oh.....well see ya later!" I hate people like that, especially Kristin, because she's been like that as long as I've known her, which I'm unhappy to say has been 6 years. I really get pissed off when people call me a bum. But anyway.

After dessert, Shana and I hung out with her family for a bit, I tried to get her dad to give me food (which didn't work since I don't have a dorm room), we gossiped some, and I fought with Honey and made fun of Cayce's tattoo idea. Cayce's really cool, and it's interesting to see her grow up. Think Reese Witherspoon in Legally Blonde. Only she has brown hair, the cutest dimples ever, and can get away with her recently acquired five extra pounds. And she likes poppy punk. The good stuff though, not the annoying bands (mostly). In other words, I have adopted her as an extra little sister. She is adorable.

Speaking of little sisters, mine's finally hitting puberty. Ahahahahahhaha. Her feet stink. The one Duncan family puberty stage I never went through. Oh hell yeah. That's what she gets for being cuter than me.

Mmm....time to tidy up my room and snuggle up to my N64. Nighty night.

aigre-douce at 11:17 p.m.

previous | next