2003-11-17

day 3 w/out the jameson

Today is technically Day 3 of James's trip. I've been keeping myself busy....

Friday night I went with Jess and her boyfriend to her Entertainer's show at the college. Her boyfriend and I sat together. Ivey (the girl whose party Elliott was supposed to attend the weekend he pussed out on coming to Enterprise) walked in, and saw us together. She's never met James before, so I'm guessing she thought David (Jess's bf) was James. She froze for a second upon seeing us, then glared. I laughed (I've never been a huge Ivey fan; just let her say something to me), then explained what had happened to David so he'd understand why he was getting glared at for no reason. It was funny. The show was good, I swear Jess is the most talented person up there. My friend Billy (who later asked for my number, not realizing I had a boyfriend, to which I said no and enlightened him that I did have one) wrote this really beautiful song about his mom. Like, you think it's a John Mayer-esque love song, till the end. It's not sexual, obviously, just really sweet. Yes, I got a little teary. Good show. I also got to see Jess's brother and Ken, a guy I was friends with when I went to the juco. Cool guys.

After the show, David, Jess, and I (and all of the Entertainers, apparently) went to Ruby Tuesday, and hung out there for a while, since they work there (discount!!) and are friends with everyone there. We hung out with their friend Nathan after that at his house. Nathan's cool. He's petite, half-asian, and likes boys. And knows more about Harry Potter than I do. And is ridiculously rich. He goes to Troy now, but when he lived at his parents' house (where we hung out), he had his own area of the house. Which is where we hung out. They all had this sparkling wine and this other stuff, but I really wasn't in the mood to drink, so I just had a few sips. I did, however, pop my first champagne bottle cork off! I was proud. Nathan and Jess were a lot of fun, but David seemed kind of bored. Ah, whatever.

Got home, checked my email, and realized someone has hacked into it and sent lots of sex spam emails from it. Nice.

Saturday was a bit....quiet. I woke up feeling sickish (I hate my sinuses), and stayed home while everyone else ran errands, or whatever. I waited by the phone for James to call me and tell me what airport he was currently at, how the trip was going so far, etc. I worked on my video game and notified AOL of what happened with my email. That was fun. Not. Shana called me to tell me she was in town, and came over. We played in makeup, then went to Koffee Kettle with her boyperson for dinner, who treated. Nice guy, even if I didn't think much of him before. He dropped us off and we spent a few hours talking and playing video games (I beat her ass at Soul Caliber 2 --which she claims is b/c the controls are slower on Gamecube-- but she killed me at the shooting games on Banjo-Tooie). It was a lot of fun, fun like we had when we first started hanging out in our 12th grade year. Good stuff.

Sunday was church, and I got to see Seth. After church I actually went driving (don't hurt yourself getting excited over that one!), and actually did really well. I got Dad to buy me a bunch of makeup at Walmart. I got some experimental eyeshadow colors (matte brown, dark purple, shimmery seafoam greeen, and a leaf green) as well as the basics. Ahhhhhhhh. That's what I have to say about makeup. :)

Since the beginning of James's trip, I have talked to him a total of possibly 30 minutes, IF that. I'd say more along the lines of 15, actually. Oh well, I will live. He's staying on Marine bases, and cell phone service ther is really shitty. Guess I'll have to get used to it (for the remainder of his trip). He used his friend's computer to update his LJ, which wasn't very impressive. I did get a shout-out, though: "I miss everyone especially my gf Lauren." Woot. You can go read the rest of the entry for yourself by clicking on the period at the top of this page. But you already know that, or should. I have decided I am too attention-needy, and that's that. I want more than to talk to him for 15 minutes in a 48-hour period of time, especially when 13 of those were on Saturday. And I want more than a "I miss everyone especially my gf Lauren." I'm about to (over)analyize this, so feel free to skip to the next paragraph if you so desire. I called him Sunday and when we were getting off the phone, I told him I loved him, and he said I love you, too. This was immediately followed by several loud Awwws in the background. We kiss at each other when we get off the phone, too, so I did it, but he didn't do it back. I'm guessing this was an attempt to appear more macho in front of his Marine friends. So maybe that's why I only received a lukewarm "I miss everyone including my gf Lauren" in his LJ; so he can appear more macho. Hopefully that's it. I really hate emotionless macho guys, though. That's a Jedi Knight for you, though. I dunno, whatever. Blegh is all I have to say about that. That and I'm looking forward to when he returns. I'm hoping that the trip being over will release all this stress he's been dealing with lately, and that he'll miss me so much while he's gone he won't want to be not by my side very long for when he gets back. I hope. We will see. I'm guessing either that will happen, or he will realize that he's not really in love with me, it's just lust, and he'll really appreciate this break from me, not miss me at all, and finally get the guts up to break up with me. I don't know. If you haven't figured it out yet, I'm just terrified of being hurt again, and so I prepare myself for the worst.

Today I woke up with the phone ringing by my ear. I thought it was James at first (b/c I wake up to him calling me quite often), but nope, it was Dad. He was off today, but had to go to a meeting. He called me and was like, "I'm on my way back from the hospital. Get ready, and I'll take you to lunch." I was surprised. We went to Carlisle's, duh (hey, I let him pick), and got the usual, plus he bought me a dessert of the praline crepe. Good, but a little too sweet. After lunch Dad and I talked about how my mom's mom was visiting this Thursday (shocker! She never condescends to visit us, since we're not a drinking family; we'll invite her, and she just makes excuses why she can't come). Dad asked if I would help him clean the house. I told him about my experience with cleaning the house "for pay" ($20 after I busted my ass, mind you) for mom. So he offered to pay me $10 for each room I cleaned in the house. If you knew my parents (and saw our house), you would be impressed. So I took it. So far I have cleaned the hall bathroom, the hall, and vacuumed my room. I am proud. But still feel sick, so that's all for today. I will work on it some more tomorrow.

I may stay with Shana in Troy for a few days, I'm not sure yet. I really want to, but I also am very interested in making money, and this housecleaning thing has to be done by Thursday. Hmmm hmmm.

I really want to change my template, but because I'm not a Gold Diarylander, I either A) can't have images, or B) have to have my images hosted elsewhere. James explained this to me, but it is now not making any sense. I've tried uploading my images to a site just for that, to which I have a membership to. But it refuses to work. This is upsetting. And of course I can't ask James about it. Damn damn damn. I'l figure it out by myself, if it's the last thing I ever do (which it damn well better not be).

I am ridiculously tired (I took some Nighttime Sinus last night, which didn't work that well, but had made me groggy and sleepy as hell since), feel horrible, and am irritable. Blegh. I do believe I am going to take a nap. Peace out.

aigre-douce at 5:03 p.m.

previous | next