2003-11-20

Lauren <3s Crazy Tough Guys

So I stayed up till 6 this morning doing Leighton's project (okay, and picking out my new template). I got 5 hours of sleep, then got up and cleaned till time to go to church. Exhausting. I was, however, woken up (twice) by James calling (HE'S HOME!), so at least the day started off well.

Because I'd been so busy busting my ass to get the house clean (finished the kitchen except for the floor, dusted the 'master' bedroom, cleaned all baseboards and fans, scrubbed my shower, etc, etc, etc), I hadn't had time to do my hair from when I took a shower this morning. I did, however, make sure to keep it wrapped up in a bandana to keep it dust-free while I was cleaning, however. My hair's in the transitional stage, and most of my clothes look stupid with it right now unless my hair's straightened. Which it wasn't. So I ended up wearing this sky blue and white thermal that's rhinestone-studded with gold writing I got forever ago that Mauretta trimmed the sleeves on and jeans. Not, you understand, what you will usually find me in. We were running late, so I had to do my makeup in the van. In the dark. Not fun. Church was church (eh), and afterwards Allison and I went to Applebee's where I had the Fiesta Lime Chicken (mmmm) and the Dulce Caramel Cheesecake while watching the Victoria's Secret annual fashion show. Note the irony, because it didn't elude us.

We rented The Dancer Upstairs.....watched the first 25 minutes or so, and I suggested we quit it in favor of Scorcese's Mean Streets, which Allison happened to have with her in the car. It was much better, though not as 'mean' as I expected. Oh well. It still had Robert De Niro in it, which was more than enough for me, mmmm. I'm all about some crazy tough guys, yeah.

Tomorrow my favorite aunt and uncle and my mom's mom are coming to stay for the night. Hence the kamikaze house cleaning I've been doing. And I say kamikaze because I've been sick all week, yet have spent my entire days busting my ass to make sure this place is perfect for mom's mom. I'm really glad James is back in town in time to meet my grandmother, because after all the talking she and I have done (i.e., all the interrogating she has performed; "I heard you're moving out." "Are you getting married anytime soon?" "Don't worry about your mom, just make sure you're sure of what you're doing."), I really want her to meet him. Hopefully it will happen, which I say since James is sick (and exhausted after driving from San Diego to here in only 2 days).

My baby's back in town! Can't wait can't wait can't wait.

aigre-douce at 2:55 a.m.

previous | next