2003-12-05

much-needed mini-vacation

Tonight my 'Uncle' Donald (read: not really my uncle, but a friend of my parents and mine since I was prenatal) called me and asked me to come visit him. He's really cool, and one of the few people I can spend days on end with and not tire of. I told him that I had no way to get there, and he volunteered to come pick me up. Which is somewhat surprising, but in a nice way. He and his wife, Mary, live in the same area (Mobile) as most of my extended family, so it's great being able to see them amidst the insanity of visiting the families. Unfortunately, I don't usually get to visit with them very much, but when I do, it's loads of fun.

I decided to go, but wanted to go ahead and get other things done (finish shopping, get license, find apartment, etc) first. However, as soon as Mom got home this evening (from shopping with Leighton after they had their hair appointments) she and I got into a fight (for the love -or lack thereof- Christ, I clean up after her all the time, it would not kill her to load a cookie sheet into the dishwasher!!). I called James to vent about it, and he suggested I go to Mobile this coming week, then we'll finish everything the week after I get back (ahem, the week before Christmas). So, now I'm leaving Monday and will return Friday, most likely.

Uncle Donald is the coolest. I hate shopping, while my mother absolutely adores it. My mom and he used to be really close (he's my dad's best friend), and Mom would drag him shopping with her when my dad was working. He knows how much I hate shopping, which is why it's so much fun to go shopping with him. He insists on taking me shopping for my birthday (which was in June, but we haven't been able to do it now). The last time we did that, we had an amazingly good time. Not the acquiring of items, just having fun and making fun of other people, as well as singing (badly) quite loudly in the car. He's a lot of fun. I'm quite ready for this mini-vacation. I need to get away from the area for a while, and it will be nice to visit Mobile without my family. I've been wanting to do that for a while, and here's a golden opportunity to do so.

Like me, he also loves music. He listens to my John Mayer, and I listen to his Sheryl Crow (oh, he's in love) and Van Morrison. We make quite the nice uncle-niece couple, I should say. I fill in for his prodigal daughter, Shelley (I even call on Father's Day, and I pretend I don't have a dad, and he's that nice mix of uncle-father figure in my life. It's very nice. And I'm his favorite redhead, too. So there.

At annnny rate. Hopefully I have a great weekend before I go visiting Monday. Kinda scary. I don't even have a cell phone, so I guess James will be calling their house from his phone? Yikes. No computer . . . Oh well, I'm taking the Game Cube and teaching Uncle Donald how to play Soul Caliber 2.

aigre-douce at 12:12 a.m.

previous | next