2004-01-13

For Allison :)

I was woken up this morning by the phone ringing. It was Carol, a friend of my mom's. Wednesday night she had been complaining that she can never do anything without dragging Sierra, her granddaughter with her, so I offered to sit for her whenever she needed it. And since I know that sometimes you need things, but really don't have the money for them, I also said she didn't have to pay me. I mean, what else am I going to do throughout the day? Sleep? Watch video games? At least I'll now be doing something to help someone else out. Plus, Carol is really cool. I like her a lot. She's very frank, and is looking into getting her nose pierced sometime soon. At any rate, she'll be by around lunch to drop Sierra off. That girl is super cute, I'm definitely looking forward to this. What a way to wake up!

Speaking of waking up, I have the worst bed head ever this morning. My hair is usually pretty sane when I get up, but this morning, it was everywhere. I had put it in a ponytail before bed last night, while reading Interview With the Vampire. I woke up with sprouts of hair pulled out of the ponytail and sticking up. I wash my makeup off before bed, of course, but not my eye makeup, because I read once that if you do it in the morning instead, it will keep you looking young. Plus I'm lazy, and like that slept-in eye makeup look. This morning, however, my eyeliner was everywhere, all under my eyes, and I looked like one of those monster things that are super pale and have DARK circles around their eyes. It made me laugh. The kitties seemed to like it, though. I went in to visit them this morning, and they were very loving. There's a small trail of tiny red ants (sugar ants) in and around their food, which I'm not too sure what to do about. I don't think the ants have been bothering my kitties, but I still don't like the look of it. Hmmm.

Sunday Allison and I went to Ruby Tuesday for lunch, and saw Cold Mountain (her second time, my first). I must say, that was a REALLY good movie. While I didn't love the ending, it was still really good. I'm a perfectionist, what can I say. I don't think it would have been nearly as good if it weren't for Ruby, Renee Zellweger's character. She was a strong country girl, very plain, but hilarious. She made that movie. She definitely deserves a reward for that, and hopefully a really big one. She was great. The whole movie was good, and there were a lot of major actors with bit parts in it to make it even better (the blond creepy guy from Happiness, Jack White from The White Stripes, Ethan Suplee, Jena Malone--girlfriend in Donnie Darko-- etc, etc). I could have, however, gone without the freaky blond villain in the movie. He made my stomach turn more than once. Oh! And Natalie Portman and another girl I recognized, but cannot identify were also in it. So good, so good. Everyone should see that movie. Just note the dark overtones in the movie, and be prepared not to be glowing when you leave the theater. But it is a good movie. Happy, Allison? :)

Sunday night James called and said he might come by yesterday. So yesterday I called him when I hadn't heard from him at noon, and he was still sleeping. When he called me back, it was to say that he didn't feel like going anywhere, and his stomach was acting up, so he wasn't coming over. Then he got off the phone and said he'd call me back in a little while. This really frustrated me, since I hadn't seen him since last Tuesday (not planning on accident on Saturday night), and I wanted to spend some time with him. So I made myself a slush with the Boone's Farm Strawberry Dacquiri I had, smoked a little, and had a Doc's Hard Lemonade. When I drink very fast, the alcohol has a stronger effect on me sooner, as is the case with most people. I can be a lightweight when it comes to alcohol, what can I say. At any rate, I was listening to my 'angry girl music', stumbling around the house a bit, and prepared to clean my bathroom (no makeup, no bath, black shirt and James's black shorts) when the doorbell rang. And of course it was James, looking super cute. Totally had me surprised, as was his plan. I took a quick bath, and we hung out all day. We "took turns" playing I-Ninja (and by took turns, I mean James dominated it, meaning I'll be starting another game on there) the majority of the day. We (purposely) grossed my sister out, we tickled and tackled each other.....it was a lot of fun. He stayed until about 11:00 last night, and I should see him at the end of this week. I enjoyed that visit, I must say.

I was going to clean my room, but since Sierra is coming over, I guess I won't get the chance. I'm off to kid-proof the house, get showered, and make some Cream of Wheat. I don't care what you think, that stuff is amaaaaaazing.

Je t'aime!

aigre-douce at 10:41 a.m.

previous | next