2004-01-25

Let's do this like a prison break, I wanna see you scream and shake

Friday morning I was awoken by my little brother (who was home with a fever) who told me Mom would pay me $20 if I completed a short(er than usual) list of housecleaning tasks. Then James called suggesting we go to Montgomery. A few hours later, I was $20 richer and on my way. James was incredibly adorable and very complimentary, not to mention he smelled delicious. It was a nice ride up.

The first thing we did was sashay (and I do mean sashay - I even got a piggyback ride at one point) through Barnes and Noble for Francesca Lia Block's latest works (though I had to order Guarding the Moon for another expedition later). They didn't have Allure nor Kevyn Aucoin's biography, so after making our purchases, we went across the parking lot to Macaroni Grill, where I bought us dinner. I was so proud to be able to buy dinner for once, because I haven't been able to do that in so long. And it was a really nice place, so it made me feel even better. The food was excellent, and we had an incredibly charming Italian waiter who had a difficult name and instructed us to call him G. I bought wine without being carded, whoo! Lady Olay and I are becoming bffs pretty soon, though. I almost like being carded for things. When I'm not, I feel sophisticated, but older in an un-flattering way. Hahahaha. Dinner was great. I quite liked the bread and James's salad. I had linguini with clams in a white wine sauce, and James had a really nice cheese ravioli. Afterwards we flew to the mall (while I rocked out to the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and shrieked, breathed, and screamed along, haha; earlier we listened to Him, Outkast, and Bleeding Through) and made fun of the Montgomery Mall Metal kids. Interestingly, Montgomery's mall has Hot Topic and Gap side by side, and there were still no scene kids to be found. Hot Topic was disappointing, though I may buy some fishnets online later.

When I was powdering my nose in the restroom (literally), a girl that used to stalk me in high school walked in. I smiled and said hey, having seen her in the mirror and being polite, and she stopped in her tracks and asked if she knew me. I was like, "Uh, we went to the same highschool....EHS." I wanted to be like, "You damn sure should, you used to follow me everywhere and talk my ear off about absolutely nothing every chance you got and were really freaking creepy!" She was like, "Oh, I'm surprised you recognized me with my different hair," which I then complimented her on. She has bleach blonde hair that used to be pretty fried and longish, but not cute, and now it's much healthier looking and in a bob. She then dragged me through the 'college' conversation; "I'm going to AUM, where are you going to school?" I explained that I was taking a break, and she immediately gushed about how great that sounded, and went on about how much she hated Enterprise, but how she would have to be there this summer to housesit for her parents and to take care of her pets. And yes, told me exactly what kinds of dogs and cats she had, and then interrogated me on my preference of breeds, etc, etc. I will never again smile and/or say hi to anyone I recognize in public that I am not very good friends with ever again. Good. Lord.

We were going to check out a movie, but couldn't find the theaters in time, and so stopped by Starbucks on the way home so I could have a venti caramel Frappucino. I was quite amused to see that on one side of the building where it should say Starbucks that Star was not lit, so it just said bucks. Times I wish I'd had a camera. When we got back to my house, there was the requisite makeout session, which I must say was really incredible, and then cuddling (and afterwards, James napping in my arms since he hadn't had any sleep the night before while I held him). It was such a nice evening, but I think my favorite part of it might have been that I got to put it into motion for once, paying for things, instead of James having to do so. Annnnnd I gave him gas money.

Oh, something funny -- I made a fake LiveJournal to mess with James, and I've kept it as a not-so-public account. At any rate, I said my location was Dothan, and got asked to do stuff with scene boys that are friends with Miss Cole. I think I laughed for ten minutes straight at that. Ohhhh man.

Now I have to go do my nails and hurr for my after-church date tonight. Whoo! More details later (and not about what you think).

<3<3<3 Lauren

aigre-douce at 3:00 p.m.

previous | next