2004-07-22

NKOTB

Day 4 of being sick. It started out innocently enough...and has now escalated into me losing my voice because I'm coughing so much, and having mildly cold sweats, but no fever. This sucks. And let me tell you, TheraFlu is no treat. I mean, you'd think if I could force down some of the alcoholic drinks I have (tonight: coke with a light bit of coconut rum, resulting in coke tasting mildly of banana boat-scented tanning oil), I'd be able to drink some TheraFlu, right? However, the TheraFlu makes me feel worse before I feel better, and since you have to drink it hot, makes me sweat some more. And I have I mentioned its taste? Blech!

Today I was woken up by Aaron Milner (former principal and teacher of mine...let's just say it didn't bother me that I got licks if I was late to class so many times...) calling me. My first thought was "Waking up to Mr. Milner's voice? I knew one day when I grew up this would happen! Yesss!!" J/K. Yesterday I'd left a message with his wife telling him I wanted permission to use him on a job application. I didn't really think he'd call back...I mean, he is pretty busy, and while a nice guy, he kind of became over-authoritative when he was appointed as one of the assistant principals. At any rate, he was super sweet, held a friendly conversation with me (more than just "Yes, you can use me. Take care, bye."),and was like, "I'm honored you thought of me to ask!" I was thinking awwww. you really were worth me having a crush on. He was totally sweet, asking where in Atlanta I was living, told me his life lived in Buckhead when they started dating, and we just chatted for a while. Seriously, what a great guy. Of course, this is also the teacher who bumped my grade up from a B to an A when I was unhappy with it, too. Mmmmm....

I really feel like I haven't accomplished anything today. I would really like to have the chance to hear back from Borders before I submit an application to Urban Outfitters, especially since it's really likely I could get a job (at Urban). I'd prefer working as a barista than a sales girl, you know? Today I stayed in bed until 2 and tried to get some rest so I could recover. However, after Deb came by asking if she'd left her wallet here the other night, neither James nor I could go back to sleep. We got up and got ready to go grocery shopping. Robley came by and showered, then Josh came home (he never sleeps @ the apartment, he just always happens to bust in at the most inopportune times to change clothes or what have you) and he and Jason (who came by sometime during all this) stayed @ the apartment and played Spider-man 2 while James, Robley and I went to Starbucks and then to Kroger for groceries. My god that was a mouth/handful. That's just a given two hours in my life here...see how hectic it is? Also, there's next to no privacy, not to fathom alone time (which I've only had when doing laundry, to and from the car when getting things out of it, and in the elevator if someone else doesn't get on. It's ridiculous. Granted, there's always someone to hang out with, however, rarely are they interested in doing things I am, as usually just guys are around, and they always just want to dick around/play video games that I don't know how to play.

Le sigh.

It's almost two in the morning, and James, Robley, and Jason are playing 13, some shooting game that looks like a graphic novel/comic book (cool points for that), Josh is hanging out with Erica (for the sixth night in a row at least), and I'm hanging out by myself, at the computer. There are other girls around, but the one I usually hang out with is picking fights with everyone lately, and I really don't have any energy for drama right now. Nor do I have the energy to be all self-conscious and make an effort to come off as funny, etc., etc. Being the new kid in town sucks sometimes.

aigre-douce at 12:28 a.m.

previous | next