2005-01-14

Martin Luther King, Jr. weekend

Today was exhausting and irritating. Okay, mostly irritating, but still. This week alone I have worked almost 45 hours, and I can bet you money that I will be cut hours next week because I am "too expensive" at $7.75/hour. Every day this week (with the exception of Sunday) I have been at work at 5:15 in the morning. Willis has come to the shop to open it, then leaves shortly after everything is ready to go for a few hours, leaving me there alone. That doesn't bother me at all, but it is slightly more responsibility than when he is there, too. It's not a problem, but it is more work. I've worked a lot this week (which is nice since I was unable to work for more than two weeks, due to going home for Christmas, being sick, and having to go to Mobile), so I was really looking forward to being off this weekend. However, since it's Martin Luther King, Jr. weekend, this is Atlanta, where King was raised, and the King center is right behind the coffeeshop, it's been uber busy at the shop. I was told to come in this morning at 10, but also told that I might have to come in earlier, and to be prepared. I woke up at 8:00, and was called to be told that I wasn't to come in at 10:00, that I was to hold off for a while, but I would definitely be coming in. So I waited around, doing nothing with my day besides having a few appletinis . . . Oh, the joys of being on call. I was finally called in at two, but didn't get to work until fifteen minutes later, because I had to look forever for a parking spot. When I got to work, it was so busy that I wasn't able to clock in (we clock in on the register) for about 30 minutes after I got there, and it was absolutely packed wall to wall the whole time I was there. You can imagine what fun that was not. I only worked for three hours, and I was cut out on some of the tips (#$%@@!), but because of all the work that I did, I am almost as tired as I would be if I'd worked a full day. Mostly, I am just irritated that I had to wait around all day, only to work a few hours anyway.

I really should be cleaning and reorganizing my closet right now, but all I want to do is relax. I also have a bathroom to clean (and possibly decorate), but instead, here I am on the computer.

My trip to Israel is next month; February 9th-17th. I applied for an expedited passport on Thursday (only$170), only to find that because of my overdrawn bank account, I may not be approved for it. My bank account is screwed up from cashing a check that bounced, which made major defecits in my account, even after I'd covered it. The same $20 check bounced at least three times, despite the fact that I put more than enough money into the account to cover all of my fines and bounced checks. When I'd already paid for everything and the same check kept bouncing ($20 for the check plus an extra $30 for it bouncing), I just gave up because I didn't have the money to pay for it . . . again. Really, I should have taken all of my statements to the bank and talked it over with the bank manager or something . . . but I didn't. So now my bank account is closed out, and I owe the bank only God knows how much money.

However, if I AM approved for my passport (which seems highly unlikely given the above information, but hopefully happens), I still have to scrounge money together for my ticket from Atlanta to New York, which I should have bought already. I should really go ahead and buy the ticket now while I still can at a somewhat managable price, but I'm afraid that I won't get my passport, and then it will be a big waste. The predicaments I get myself into, I tell you . . . James has been awesome and had tried to help me in any way he is able to. He paid for my passport pictures, which turned out really well, and has said he will try to help pay for my ticket, should my passport be approved. What a man.

Morgan just called. He apologized for "so uncermoniously" telling me to clock out at 6 when I'd only been there for a few hours, and told me if I wanted, he would cut me in on some action at the shop tomorrow evening. I gladly agreed. As tired as I am, I still have to make money to make up for the last couple of weeks I haven't worked. I love Morgan; he's so thoughtful.

I am now going to finish cleaning the closet, and then after cleaning the bathroom and getting the laundry together, perhaps I will sort my books and see if there's any I would like to get rid of. Or perhaps I will just collapse into bed, watch the rest of Labyrinth and or read the fifth book in the Series of Unfortunate Events. Either way, I'm out.

aigre-douce at 8:14 p.m.

previous | next