2005-08-19

Working Girl

Okay, I'm exhausted. In case you're wondering why I haven't updated in quite a while, consider this: Ever since I was suspended from work for a week in June, I've tried to grab every shift available. The past few weeks I've not only been working at the shop but always end up babysitting (for either F., the prominent lawyer with two girls, or W., one of my managers) not only on my off days, but a good bit of my spare time (example: Sunday afternoons when I get off until late that evening). The up side of this is of course, the extra money. Plus I really enjoy the time I spend with the kdis (especially the girls - we have a blast together; W's kids are also great, but they're so much younger and I can't really do the same things with them). However, burning the candle at every available end has been taking its toll on me, primarily on my attitude (well, last week I was PMSing which had quite a lot to do with that, and I was also dealing with a lot of things) and my appearance (which has become increasingly laid-back, until I noticed it this weekend, and have been spiffing it up since then). Working so much apparently also makes me look tired. Yikes!

At work we use the Rhapsody internet radio station as our music. Today every station I put on played absolutely horrible music, and I finally gave up and put it on 90s Hits. That wasn't impressive either, until the Macarena came on. I was delighted and amused.

So for the moving news . . . As I said, James and I found a twin townhouse in Cabbagetown (an area of Atlanta) that we absolutely loved. Even better, the rent was the same there as we're already paying for our studio apartment. The only downside was that Hezekiah, our to-be landlord, wanted $1400 up front; $700 for the first month's rent, and another $700 for the security deposit. Problem: We're already having to pay $700 for the last month's rent at the lofts, and we don't have $2100 laying around. This is precisely why I've been working my ass off lately; to have enough money to move into the new place. We came to an agreement with Hezekiah - $700 for the first month's rent, and another $350 for the security deposit now, and then over the next three months we'll pay installments to cover the remaining $350. Now we're waiting for Hezekiah to finish painting so we can move in ASAP. We have to be out of our current apartment by the first of September, but would like to move in before then and get situated. Actually, Hezekiah said that he was going to try to be done with the place and have us in there by the 15th . . . You'll notice that today's date, however, is the 19th, and not only have we not yet signed the lease (or given him any money), but we also have not heard from him. We're both frustrated, but haven't called him since James forgot to set aside the $700 for the first month's rent (he thought we'd pay it on the 1st, not before we moved in; I'm paying the security deposit), and I don't want to bother the man and then him want us to pay him immediately and us not have the money. That being said, today James is going to call him to see if he's in the area so James can see how it's coming along - this is mostly just to show we're interested and on the ball about things.

Today's payday! Hopefully I made enough money so that with some of James' money, I'll have enough to pay the $700 for the rent; I already set aside the $350 from my last paycheck for the security deposit. It's funny - since I work all the time and have so little spare time on my hands, I feel like I get paid every week, because now my time flies by twice as fast. Here's hoping all that hard work paid off . . .

I started this entry after I was done opening the shop and setting out the bakery; now it's about time for the early morning rush to come in, so I'd better go. More later (I hope).

aigre-douce at 6:39 a.m.

previous | next