2005-10-12

An update . . . finally.

Okay, so obviously my last entry was abruptly interrupted. I was writing it at work, because I rarely get on the computer when I'm actually home now, and of course the morning business started booming right as I was getting into my entry. So I'll write a quick one now (before James lassoes me into watching a movie with him that he's been waiting forever to come out).

Work is hectic, but great. I created a bunch of seasonal drinks, and Manager W. (reminder: my favorite, I babysit for him a lot, and we're pretty close) didn't really think they would sell, but bought the ingredients for them anyway to humor me. Surprise, surprise . . . . They've been selling out like whoa. Because I've been so obsessed with finding new flavors, I was actually the first person to let our Monin (flavored syrups) distributor for all of Atlanta know that Monin started selling Pumpkin Spice syrup (I saw it on their website ten days before Monin even told our distributor they had it), and our distributor hasn't been able to keep it in stock since. Think about it . . . that's the Monin distributor for ALL OF ATLANTA (besides Starbucks, I'm assuming) . . . and because of ME, our distributor has made a TON of money and it's been so popular, he can't even keep it in stock! Think about that for a second. I think it's pretty impressive. Of course, my managers are extremely impressed with me because our profits have increased so much (because of my ideas) AND also (because of me, they've admitted it themselves) they're 'hip' and 'ahead of the curve' as far as seasonal drinks go. Inventing new drinks has always come naturally to me and has always been a hobby of mine (ask anyone who grew up with me about that and they can testify it), and since I'm doing well with it, I'm thinking of getting a culinary degree, and pursuing it as part of my career; thinking up new drinks for companies. Unfortunately, the coffeeshop I'm with now is too small to hire me (for big bucks, anyway), so I guess at some point in the future, I'll have to move on to another company. I really hate Starbucks with a passion, but that would be a TON of money . . . argh. Anyway, that's what my mind has been on a whole lot lately.

I'm not pregnant. I've been curious about whether or not I wasn't; my period has been jumpy for the last year or so and much lighter and shorter and I'm not on birth control pills anymore, and I've had a ridiculous appetite lately (by 'lately' I mean in the past two or three months I gained back the fifteen pounds I had lost this summer). My period's still a little late, so I bought a test this afternoon . . . nope, no baby here. I'm relieved. I didn't really think I was, but there's always a little bit of doubt.

I am in love with VERONICA MARS. I never watch tv, but I got sucked into that show mid-season this summer and have been an absolute addict ever since. I'm not even kidding; if it's Wednesday night, I'm not doing ANYTHING but sitting at home, waiting for Veronica Mars to come on. In a way, I think it's been really good that I'm so interested in the show, but that's another subject altogether, and I'm afraid I wouldn't be able to explain it very well. I will say that Veronica Mars inspires me. Best news yet? Yesterday the entire first season came out on dvd and James bought it for me ($50!). All I did last night was watch as many episodes as I could. It's exciting because apparently there are A LOT of episodes I haven't seen, which only adds to the wonderfulness of Veronica Mars and the intensity of my obsession.

Tomorrow I'm leaving immediately after work for Enterprise. James and Liger are staying with James' parents, and on Friday, my family and I are going to Mobile, and coming back Saturday. Why? Because my cousin Christy (who was pregnant this time last year and working in Atlanta, even though she lived in the Mobile area; I mention this because I may have written about her) is giving me her car that she's had since she was sixteen (she's 30ish now). It's an older car, but she says it's never given her any problems, and it's in very good condition. She has a BMW (a nice, new one), too, but she loves the older car. She's giving it to me because (besides the fact that I need a car) it doesn't have airbags, and she doesn't want to endanger the baby (just in case). I'm excited. I'm a little nervous about actually driving the car though, because it's a stick shift, and I'm accustomed to driving automatics. Thankfully, James has been working with me on the different gears and whatnot when he drives (he has a stick shift as well, but his truck requires a personal relationship to drive). After work today I got my Georgia license (I waited because I didn't need it and wanted to save money). The weird thing is that in real life, and in most pictures, I look A LOT like my mom. However, when I received my license this afternoon, I was very surprised to see that in the picture I very closely resembled Christy and not my mom. I wonder why that is; I've never thought I looked like her at all. I mean, she's very pretty, so it's definitely nice, but I've just never thought we favored. Her mom and I look somewhat alike, but that's about it.

I'm most excited not about getting the car (which I'm superhappy about), but seeing my family. I'm especially looking forward to seeing my grandfather, whom I have not seen since my grandmother's funeral in January. I've become closer to him these past nine months, though. I've also become hypersensitive about my grandmothers' deaths (my great grandmother on my mom's side, whom I was close to growing up, died a few years ago in the spring, and then my dad's mother's twin sister - my extra grandmother- died January before last) to the point of crying in public when I see certain things. Needless to say, I'm not looking forward to this January. I don't expect my grandfather to die anytime soon, but I'm afraid nonetheless. I've considered moving to Mobile to live with him, but I feel like I would just be waiting for him to die, and I don't want to feel like that. Instead, I call him about once a week to two weeks. That may not seem like a big deal, but my grandfather and I have never been very close (before my grandmother's death I saw them about five times a year, maybe more, and I talked to them on the phone for about ten minutes every month or so), but things are a lot different now. I'm also looking forward to meeting Christy's son and seeing Michelle's kids (Deveraux, Durand, and Keltin; I spent about a month with them a year and a half ago).

Anyway, that's my life right now. I'm feeling kind of nauseous for some reason (period coming?), so I'm going to go for now. Before I go I will add that I am currently re-reading Goblet of Fire (Book 4 in the Harry Potter series) so I can buff up before the movie comes out next month. I'm SO EXCITED!! The first time I saw the trailer for it, it brought tears to my eyes. But then again, pretty much anything does that these days. I'm so sensitive!

aigre-douce at 5:55 p.m.

previous | next